Skip to content

Black Bean Soup

October 22, 2012

I have mixed feelings about Fall. Being a Spring person, I get excited by each new blossom that pops up in our yard. I love the much longed for warming weather. As a child, I spent the summers splashing in the water at the beach, and enjoying my favorite black bean soup with corn bread. Back then, Fall reminded me of the end of summer and the dying plants. No more beach weather and slow days.

However, the hydrangea bushes outside our house help me to love all seasons. I watch the plant change over time, and learn to appreciate each stage. In the Spring, I get excited about the budding leaves, followed by the large blue flowers in the summer. The other day, we attacked our yard, with the help from my parents. Due to the hot summer, everything crisped over and needed much help, especially the hydrangeas that hug our driveway. AAM and I trimmed the bushes down, and discovered the green leaves hiding underneath. Hidden behind all the dead flowers, I found one beautiful hydrangea, aging with pink, green, and brown petals. This small blossom reminded me that seasons don’t end, but evolve.


The recipe below celebrates my old summer favorite during the Fall, when I think it tastes even better. I prepared it vegan, since dairy is not needed to make this. I enjoy Black Bean Soup that is smooth and spicy, so adjust the recipe to your own preferences.

Black Bean Soup

  • 2 tb of olive oil
  • 1-2 Anaheim or mild hot pepper, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 cup of shopped yellow onion
  • 1 cup of carrots, chopped
  • 1 tsp fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 2 cups of soaked black beans
  • 1 can of tomato paste
  • 6 cups of veggie broth, or more (depends on the consistency that you would like)
  • 1 teaspoon of kosher salt
  • 1 cup of soy milk
  • 2 tb chives or parsley, chopped

1. In a large stock pot, heat olive oil over medium. Add the peppers, onion, carrots, and rosemary. Saute for 5-10 minutes.

2. Once the peppers and onions are soft, add the drained black beans, veggie broth, and tomato paste. Stir together, and simmer for 1 hour.

3. Add the kosher salt, and simmer for another 20 minutes.

4. Put half the soup in a food processor, and let the bean mixture become smooth. Add back into the stockpot. Stir in soymilk, and warm over low heat. Stir together.

5. Serve with chopped chives (or parsley)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Herath permalink
    October 22, 2012 8:40 am

    I don’t even cook but I’m making this soup this week!!

  2. October 22, 2012 1:40 pm

    Mmmm, you just took me back in time. I worked in Rockville for several years right down the street from a place called Soup’s On (which sadly does not exist anymore). Best lunch spot around. On cold days their front windows would be fogged up from the steamy cauldrons of homemade soup goodness waiting inside. Their black bean was to die for, topped with chopped cilantro. I might have to make this for old time’s sake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

