Skip to content

Creamy Broccoli Salad Wraps

September 17, 2012

This recipe was created on a night when I anticipated making the same dinner I have done at least once a week for decades, black bean burritos. Getting home from the grocery store at 6pm, with a Serafina falling apart, any attempt to make the fancy Cauliflower Spinach Pasta with Dijon Butter Sauce from the Greens Cookbook was abandoned.

In typical fashion, once I started preparing the meal, I found it lead me somewhere else. I tend to have a bizarre train of thought when trying to create a meal. It starts one place but through ingredient association, it ends up in a surprising direction.Originally, I was looking to make a basic black bean burrito with tomatoes. However, I looked for a vegetable, and found broccoli. I contemplated a sauce, and thought Ranch. I searched for a protein, and saw sliced almonds. Adding a few ingredients in between, wrapping them in a whole wheat tortilla, I realized I found a great lunch and a quick dinner.

This recipe is friendly to anyone, from ominivore to vegetarian to vegan. It is familiar enough in taste for those fearful of a vegetarian diet.  And for those vegans, the two dairy items are an easy swap, which I provided. The basic salad recipe could also be used for a brunch or over lettuce.

As with all of my recipes, I encourage you to experiment with taste. I never identify quantities of salt and pepper because that is very individual. You could also add less onion (I love onion), more hot sauce,lots of Ranch dressing, or those tomatoes I was originally looking for. Remember, this blog is just about ideas of meals, not the definitive recipe.

Creamy Broccoli Salad Wraps

  • 1 bunch of Broccoli, stems removed and chopped
  • ¼ cup of Water
  • Salt/Pepper
  • 1/3 cup of shredded Cheddar Cheese or vegan substitute such as Daiya
  • ¼ cup of Vidalia Onion, chopped
  • ¼ cup of Sliced Almonds
  • 4 tb Buttermilk Ranch Dressing (click for vegan version found at cleangreensimple.com)
  • Whole Wheat Wraps or Tortillas
  • Sriracha Sauce (optional)

1. Add the broccoli and water to a bowl. Steam in the microwave for 2-4 minutes, checking every 2 minutes. Remove when bright green, but not too dark.

2. Drain the broccoli. Add the salt, pepper, cheddar, onion, and almonds. Stir together. Using the heat from the broccoli fold the ingredients together to melt the cheese.

3. Lay a wrap on a plate. Add the broccoli salad and drizzle Sriarcha sauce on top for those who prefer things spicy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

