Skip to content

February 12, 2012

At some point everyone takes a break, a vacation, a moment to pause.

Over the past seven years, I continually added to my life, without much subtracting. Teaching fulltime, working towards my PhD, a cooking blog, a daughter, joining the Board of Directors of her school, a promotion at work to a Dean, and now an extra course at work. An extra course does not sound like much, but it can be the straw that breaks the camels back. My teaching load will have four  different preps and the majority of my grading time at work gone. I am excited about the topic, Revolutions against Empire, but still anxious about what all of the work means. Already, it feels as if life is running forward without a pause in the present.

I am finding ways to lighten the load. I resigned from the Board. As much as I wanted to help, coming home late was not good for Serafina or myself. I then looked at other ways that I could help simplify life. I started to go to bed earlier, nine p.m has never been so wonderful. Finally, one of the ways to manage this stress is to lower my expectations of meal time. Not to revert to poor eating, but allowing myself to revisit four years of meals that I created for the blog. Taking the pressure off, from making two new meals and writing about them every week, will probably help me to get through the next three months. Of course, I don’t want to say good bye to blogging, as it has been a really wonderful way to preserve family stories and yummy meals, but I need a break. So, I am on vacation from the cooking and blogging, but I will be back when I am on vacation from the real world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

