Skip to content

Vegetarian Restaurant Review: Zaytinya

January 20, 2012

Zaytinya

701 9th Street NW, Washington DC 20001  |  202.638.0800

  • Veg Friendly: Excellent
  • Menu: Endless combinations, with 22 vegetarian mezze options, not including the appetizers.
  • Originality: Creative Middle Eastern Tapas, with a Greek focus
  • Service: Good and swift.

We have been going to Zaytinya since it opened in 2003. A Jose Andreas restaurant, I really think it supersedes his other ventures. My first experience with Zaytinya was when I left my first job, working at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History, my boss took our small department for lunch to celebrate. I remember that as my first meal where I really savored food. I still remember the table, the dishes, and the conversation. Since then, AAM and I have celebrated many life turns and moments at Zatinya. From my bridesmaid luncheon to double dates with friends, we have enjoyed every meal. Sleek, but still warm, the restaurant is modern enough to make it a nice meal out, but casual enough that you could visit for any occasion. Recently, we went for lunch after a Georgetown game, and the scrumptious tastes and smells delighted us.

For those who haven’t ventured to Zaytinya yet, it is a place where vegetarians and meat eaters can both walk away very satisfied. Vegetarians should definitely try the zucchini fritters, called Kolokithokeftedes. The roasted cauliflower is divine, and something I look forward to imitating at home. The menu can be seasonal and the combinations endless, so this is a restaurant worth many trips. With its location near Chinatown, it is a perfect restaurant to take out of town guests or a nice date. I highly recommend taking your favorite vegetarian to Zaytinya for a wonderful meal.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

