Skip to content

Sesame Green Beans with Mung Bean (Cellophane) Noodles

January 2, 2012

I am terrified of cooking Asian food, but each time I try a recipe, I become more and more comfortable. I guess a good life lesson for trying new things. And well progress is a good thing, especially in efforts to try and eat healthier, we aren’t ordering from our favorite Chinese delivery place for awhile. So here, is my attempt to replicate my favorite meal. I looked at about six different recipes, and tried to lighten it up a bit. There is still soy sauce and sesame oil, but a taste. To make it toddler friendly, instead of cooking the red pepper flakes in with the sauce, I added it later. Healthwise, it is a pretty decent meal, and has the added bonus of being vegan. Serafina and AAM loved this meal, and it is definitely an easy weeknight recipe.

Sesame Green Beans with Mung Bean (Cellophane) Noodles

  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup of veggie broth
  • 1/2 cup of onions, chopped
  • 1 cup of carrots sliced
  • 1 cup of Shitake mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 cups of green beans, trimmed
  • 2-3 tb sesame seeds
  • 2 tb light soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 bag of mung bean noodles (cellophane)
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes

1. Soak the mung bean noodles in a pot of water for ten minutes.

2. In a saute pan, saute the garlic in veggie broth. Before it burns, throw in onions and carrots. Let simmer for 5 minutes until the carrots are soft. Add the mushrooms and let simmer.

3. After the noodles have soaked, turn on the pot and let cook (about 3-5 minutes).

4. Throw in the green beans to the saute pan with the veggies. Add the soy sauce, sesame oil, and sesame seeds. If you (and your meal guests) like spiciness add the red pepper flakes now. Or, have each person add to their own taste. Cook the green beans until they brighten, but don’t overcook them. This dish is best if they are still crunchy.

5. Drain the noodles and stir them into the veggies. Serve hot.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 5:49 pm

    Not relevant to this post, but I’m sure you’ve seen the new dietary recommendations from the Harvard School of Public Health (if not, http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/what-should-you-eat/calcium-full-story/index.html) and their version of the Healthy Eating Plate (http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/healthy-eating-plate/index.html). I printed out a copy of the Harvard plate and stuck it on the fridge. Have been contemplating life with very little dairy all day…I think I could forsake milk, but cheese??? And getting Robb to eat bok choy might kill me. 🙂

    • January 3, 2012 5:58 pm

      Indeed, I did see that recommendation, they are splashing it all over the vegetarian news. I agree, I love me some cheese. However, I know for a fact that I could seriously cut down on the consumption of it, since it was starting to become a crutch for me. We are doing some cholesterol and saturated fat watching over here, which in our diet is dairy. So yep, you will probably see more vegan recipes.

      Dude, bok choy is awesome. Maybe if you went to a vegetable cooking class together he might like veggies more? Or start hiding them, like Seinfeld’s wife does?

  2. January 4, 2012 9:06 am

    I already grate carrots and zucchini into spaghetti sauce! 🙂 No, I agree with you. We just threw together the menu for Maureen’s birthday party because we had been traveling for the holidays. And in retrospect almost everything we served was either cheese-based or red meat. This is what happens when Robb has menu control. We really need to reign it in. Especially since my mom is now lactose intolerant. I’m wondering if she was able to eat anything at the birthday party…

    And if you post a bok choy recipe sometime, I will serve it to Robb and see what happens. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrate Chinese New Year! « the vegetarian salmon

Leave a Reply

