Skip to content

Nana’s Stuffing and Being Thankful for School

November 22, 2011

I have mentioned it a bunch of times, but I work at a really exciting school where each moment in learning is an experiment, interactions with students are collaborative, and the faculty…..well, we just like to celebrate together. I really enjoy my colleagues and love where I work, and it is just an added bonus that we appreciate food and company. Happy teachers, facilitate happy students, allowing for a happy learning environment. Very simple math indeed. I am continually thankful for finding a career that I love and a place that exemplifies what education should be.

Every year, we have a potluck Thanksgiving before the holiday break Where as a group, we pool together our favorite recipes. Last year I made my Butternut Squash Wild Rice, but this year I tried my mother’s stuffing recipe. I have to admit, it didn’t turn out to be quite what I am used to. There is a turkey roasting competition between two members of the faculty, which controlled the temperature of the ovens. I did the best I could, but the stuffing should be both doughy on the inside, and crunchy on top.

Stuffing is my absolute favorite part of Thanksgiving, always was and always will be. My mother knows to make several batches for me, and she keeps it entirely vegetarian. When people ask me about my favorite comfort foods, stuffing quickly jumps to the stop of the list. However, I am extraordinarily picky about stuffing. It needs to be crunchy, but soft. It needs no fruits or extra veggies. It needs flavor, but doesn’t need to be drowned. It should be so good that you don’t need gravy, and for a vegetarian this is a key issue. So, today was my first attempt at my mother’s stuffing, it wasn’t quite perfect, but I think it still met my parameters. Better yet, I got to enjoy good food with my colleagues.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Nana’s Vegetarian Stuffing

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 cup of chopped celery
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 tb dried parsley
  • 1 tb dried oregano
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 bag of Arnold Stuffing Breadcrumbs, no seasoning
  • 1 cup of veggie broth.

1. Saute the celery and onions in the butter. When the onions are translucent, add the spices. Stir together thoroughly.

2. In a big bowl, pour in the breadcrumbs, onion mixture, and one cup of water.

3. Spray a pan, add the stuffing, cover, and let sit in a fridge overnight.


4. Preheat your oven at 350. Pour the veggie broth over the stuffing.

5. Bake the stuffing in the oven for 40 minutes to an hour. You want the edges to be crispy but not burned, and the inside to be doughy. If it looks like your stuffing is getting dry, pour a little more veggie broth over it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 22, 2011 1:56 pm

    I agree. Stuffing is my fav too!!!

Leave a Reply

