Skip to content

Butternut Squash Ravioli in a Asparagus and Basil Cream Sauce

November 16, 2011

This dish was fantastic!

As readers know, I am a big fan of a solid cream sauce. I have my mother’s recipe, which I add variations to occasionally. It is easy and perfect for winter weeknights. However, it is not a light meal, which means I invoke Julia Child when I say,  a little fat in moderation is good for you. This is not a dish to enjoy nightly, but is a fantastic treat on those really rough days. Because vegetarians tend to eat a much healthier diet than the average person, especially vegetarian children, they can use a little fat in their diets. As long as they are sticking to a healthful diet and not subsisting on cheese and potato chips, this occasional fat is good.

After three weeks of living out of the pantry and on Washington Green Grocer deliveries (read: spending $35 a week on groceries for a family of three!), I went to Whole Foods and restocked the fridge. Everytime I go to the grocery store, I try to grab a few new items to help expand our range. I bought vegetarian tuna spread for Serafina and myself (which we love), kale chips (which only I love), and some new pastas (which all three of us love). I decided to try their butternut squash ravioli, and it really worked with this recipe, so I recommend it. I had hoped to learn to make my own ravioli last summer, but alas, life took over.

Last night, AAM and I threw together this combination, and it seemed to be a new level of magic. Enjoy!

Butternut Squash Ravioli in a Asparagus and Basil Cream Sauce

  • 1 bunch of asparagus, chopped into 1.5 inch segments
  • 1-2 tb olive oil
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 2 containers of frozen butternut squash pasta (ours were from Whole Foods)
  • 1/3 cup of chopped basil
  • 1 cup of whipping cream
  • 2 tb of butter, chopped
  • 1 tb nutmeg, freshly ground
  • salt, pepper, sprinkling of cheese to taste.

1. Pre-heat the oven to 400. Meanwhile, chop the asparagus, liberally cover with olive oil, pepper, and sea salt. Then, place in the oven for twenty minutes. Remove from the oven  and let cool

2. Boil a pot of salted water. When it is ready, add the butternut squash ravioli. Let it cook until they all float (You will be heating it up again, so it is ok if it seems a bit undercooked). Drain the ravioli.

3. Return the ravioli to the pot, add the asparagus, basil, cream, butter, Pecorino cheese, nutmeg, and pepper. Let the pasta simmer for about 5 minutes, allowing the flavors to blend.

4. Serve warm with a sprinkling of more Pecorino and pepper.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

