Skip to content

Chili Toasted Pepitas

October 30, 2011

I have decided lazy weekends are what life is about. When we lived in our old townhome in South Arlington, we jam packed our schedules, rushing this way and that. Serafina strapped to me, with a mission at hand, we were a family on the go. Our home was really too small to dally inside on a Saturday. We jetted into the city for brunch with friends, then over to one set of parents, back for a walk in our neighborhood and a meal out. Adding to that having our house on the market last Spring, we just spent no time at home.

Now, we don’t feel the pull to leave the house. Establishing spaces within, and outside, our home , we find that it is the perfect place to relax. With a sewing studio, I can start hitting my long list of projects during Serafina’s naptime. Today, AAM sat with me watching Italian soccer, while I sewed a cloth book shelf for Serafina’s bedroom (will put up photos when we mount it to the wall). We still love walking in our new neighborhood, for an hour or two everyday, we glide down streets with the jogging stroller. The neighbors are friendly, the war era houses charming, and the old trees on the street drip with Fall colors. Our new neighborhood is hopping with a diverse group of social people, just enough entertainment to be entertained, but also enough down time for the weekend to feel like recovery from the stresses of work.

This weekend, Serafina dressed up in her costume for a birthday party for her favorite twin playmates,  as well as the neighborhood parade. For the second event, about 150-200 people gathered in one of the three neighborhood parks, while the kids stomped around in their super grover/scarecrow/mario brothers costumes. Coincidentally, or not, the Mario brothers were throwing rocks into the creek.  We could only enjoy it as long as Serafina could take the fun, then we had to depart with her meltdown telling us that she had just enough entertainment.

Serafina celebrating at the neighborhood parade/party

After she went to bed, we carved our pumpkins. We bought one of those pumpkin carving kits with ambitious patterns. It is in moments like these that I am thankful I married my opposite. Although I sew, a hobby where precision is key, I am not a detail orientated person. My sewing projects are fun ideas, but anyone who knows about stitching would see through me. My paintings are studies in color. My teaching style is a blur of excitement. Maybe that is why I am good at cooking, but terrible at baking. Anyways, pumpkin carving is a fun idea, but I don’t think I am skilled in the art. However, AAM is such a meticulous person, that it suits him. He is the measure twice, then again type of person. And, I hope Serafina is some where in between the two. There is fun in painting the whole picture, but beauty in the details.

My Jack O' Lantern

AAM's and Serafina's Jack O'Lanterns

So, while he finished up his creations, I roasted some pumpkin seeds.

Chili Toasted Pepitas

  • 3-4 cups of pumpkin seeds (about 3 pumpkins)
  • 1 cup of olive oil
  • 2-3 tb chili powder
  • 1 tb salt

1. Preheat your oven to 300.

2. Clean your pumpkin seeds thoroughly.

3. Mix in the oil, chili powder, and salt. Bake in the oven for 40 minutes. Be sure to check on your seeds every 15 minutes, and stir them so they won’t burn.

4. Serve as a snack, on a salad, topping a risotto, etc. They will keep in the fridge for about a month.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 11:19 am

    Aw, her penguin suit turned out so cute! Nice work, Mom. 🙂 One part of me was relieved that our pumpkins were decorated with sticker and paint this year. But after seeing your post the other part of me is now craving pumpkin seeds! We’ve done them a couple ways in the past–chili powder among those– but I like them best with ginger.

Leave a Reply

