Skip to content

Try a New Side: Roasted Brussels Sprouts

August 4, 2011

The much maligned vegetable, brussels sprouts will make any child or adult groan. Although I never had them until I was an adult, I even groaned when people mentioned them. However, amongst my friends and family there has been a resurgence of the veggie. My mother-in-law discovered that Serafina loves them, so they make a frequent appearance on her table.  After I posted my sister-in-law’s Pasta with Shredded Brussels Sprouts, several friends started incorporating them into their meals. Additionally, everywhere I turn I see them or hear people talking about them. One friend, EB, even texts me every time she eats them, which from quickly checking the number of texts on my phone, appears to be an unhealthy amount.

Except, Brussels Sprouts are very healthy. Known for lowering cholesterol, correcting the thyroid, and fighting cancer, this hardworking mini-cabbage needs to be given a second chance. Part of the reason most people don’t like Brussels Sprouts has to do with their sulpher-like smell or overcooked texture, which boiling only enhances. For this reason, try sauteeing, braising, carmelizing or roasting. Although these methods damper some of the benefits, they don’t outweigh the positives. The other night, I tried a simple garlic and olive oil marinade for the brussels sprouts that turned out quite good. While enjoying pasta, I placed a side dish plate of sprouts between AAM and myself for us to share. He said, “Good luck with that. Those are on my list.” Meaning his list of least favorite foods, which include mushrooms and raisins. “Well, your daughter likes them, so give them a try.” I replied. Always game for a taste, AAM carefully selected his sprout, and took a bite. His facial response would be the perfect advertisement for Brussels sprouts. “I don’t like them, but as always, I like the way you make it.” Which, is his way of stubbornly bypassing the previous statement. So, there you go, this recipe already has a Brussels Sprout convert!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  • 3-4 cups of Brussels Sprouts
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp kosher salt
  • Optional Additions: Walnuts or Pecorino Romano Cheese

1.Pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees

2. Slice your brussels sprouts in half, which make it tastier, interesting to look at, and easier to eat.

3. Toss your sprouts with the garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper, and place in a baking dish. Let sit for a few minutes while your oven heats up. (If you want to throw in walnuts here, this is a great optional addition. We didn’t because Serafina hasn’t really eaten nuts yet.)

4. Roast for 10 minutes, then stir the sprouts around flipping them over, then roast for another 10. The outer shell of the sprout can be lightly browned, but the interior should not be. Serve hot, and top with Pecorino Romano cheese for a little tangy addition.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    August 4, 2011 1:26 pm

    Our routine has been to use half the package of brussel sprouts to do this and the other half in the pasta! A few times I’ve also added herbs de provance, which has also been yummy.

    • August 4, 2011 1:30 pm

      you (or should i say doug?) are on my list of brussels sprouts lovers. very funny!

  2. Melissa permalink
    August 4, 2011 4:22 pm

    I love brussel sprouts! We didn’t grow up with them, but about 2 years ago I started making them more frequently. I get them REAL crispy in the pan and sometimes add a splash of balsamic vinegar. Mmmmm

Trackbacks

  1. Tomato, Basil, and Ricotta Capellini « the vegetarian salmon
  2. Brussels Sprout and Beet Salad « the vegetarian salmon

Leave a Reply

