Skip to content

Homemade Peach Iced Tea

July 25, 2011

It is hotter than Hades.

It is so hot you could cook an egg on the pavement.

It is so humid, you could swim to work.

Most of the country is suffering from this heat wave, so I am sure many would agree with me that the heat is pretty awful. Growing up in DC, I am relatively used to heat and humidity. I actually love hot summer nights. There is such a thing as a drier heat, and DC summers have never met that type of heat. We are a city built on a swamp, and there is no need to fight our climate zone. So, we just move slower, forget ambitious schedules, and stay close to the air conditioning. It is a bit hard to deal with the heat when caring for a toddler. They can’t go outside, but that does not mean they don’t have energy. Serafina wants to move!  Last week when it was code red, which means children are not allowed outside, Serafina went to school where she could be active indoors.  I am just not as exciting as her music classes, art projects, and the eight little playmates in her class that chant her name when she enters the room.

After a busy weekend, I kept Serafina home today. I just missed her. Since it was a cool 90 degrees at 8:30, two neighbors came by with their children to go for a walk. Our old neighborhood was friendly, but never as thoughtful. Our new neighbors drop off muffins and plants, invite us over, and come by for walks. Flustered, I almost said no to the walk. That is my shy-side leftover from childhood, it flares up once in awhile. When meeting new people, my instinct is to run and hide. I even hide from trick-or-treaters, but this time I quickly corrected my turtle instinct. We had a great time getting to know each other, and I even learned about a park down the street. By the time we returned, Serafina and I were sweaty. The sun started to beat down. I realized it was time for sun tea.

Sun tea reminds me of my mother. Using the heat of August, that horrible heat that we all complain about, she would brew some tea on our back patio. So, after Serafina went down for her nap, I filled my pitcher with water, threw in some tea bags. The minute I walked outside, that tea started brewing. It is so hot tea brews in seconds.

This is approximately 1-2 minutes after walking outside.

Looking at our peaches and honey from the Falls Church Farmers Market, I decided to spice the tea up. They add the perfect amount of fruit and sweetness to black tea.  If you want to serve this at a BBQ, throwing in a little whiskey makes it a fun summer party drink.

We love our new Farmers Market, lots of variety and very fresh local foods.

Homemade Peach Iced Tea

  • 4 tea bags
  • 1 quart water
  • 2 peaches sliced
  • 2 tb honey

1. Fill a pitcher with room temperature water and add three- four bags of tea. I used a basic black tea, but some people like the fourth tea bag to be herbal, such as lemon.

2. Cover your tea with a pitcher top, or I used plastic wrap, and place your pitcher in a sunny place for 3-4 hours.

3. Take your peaches and honey, blend together in a food processor or blender.

4. Stir the peaches into your tea.  Place in the fridge and let cool. When serving, add ice cubes to the glasses. Sun tea needs to be consumed within 48 hours, so be sure to take advantage!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    July 25, 2011 2:33 pm

    yummy! I’ve been craving homemade peach tea ironically enough. Thanks for the recipe. Not sure if I can do sun tea here though–not hot enough!

  2. July 25, 2011 3:14 pm

    Sounds delicious! Hopefully we can wander over and go on a walk with you before you go back to school 🙂

Leave a Reply

