Skip to content

Curried Egg Salad

July 15, 2011

I often get ask about what teachers DO during the summer, because hey, we have all that time off right? Teaching and learning don’t stop for summer break, neither does trying to find ways to earn money. I have friends who waitress or work in retail, others who take classes, some go to conferences. I have a colleague who continually sends me unit plans and project ideas to unite our geography and science curriculum (Seriously Amy, you are making me look bad) I have parents emailing about their child’s scores, or asking about placement. Since a great teacher always questions their curriculum and approach, it takes hard work to remain an excellent teacher.

For me? Summer seems to be a process of preparing and learning. This year, I had meetings up until June 30th. I also needed to move offices, pack up my classroom for a summer camp could use the space, and start planning for my new responsibility of being 11th grade dean and two new courses for next year. The courses, one covering different types of revolutions from around the world and the other an introduction to African Studies, need to be researched and planned. I still stop by school once a week to read student files, attend occasional meetings, and plan for the Fall. On top of this, I dedicate at least three hours a day to reading research for my PhD work. So, despite all of the hubbub last Spring, where people complained teachers were overpaid because of summers, I think it is safe to say we keep working hard. 🙂

Egg Head

Except for Fridays. I save Fridays for Serafina. She has abbreviated school hours in the summer already, attending her classes from 10:00-3:30. However, I keep her home on Fridays for us to have fun. Today we walked around our entire new neighborhood, we both agreed that we were in love. Then, we played on the sun porch. She moved items around, and when I asked if she was redecorating, she looked at me seriously and nodded. Finally, we made the egg salad below. Recently, I had gotten lazy at introducing her to a variety of flavors, so I thought throwing curry into the egg salad would be a twist she didn’t know. She loved it. She kept saying “More. More. More.” I couldn’t keep up! So, I would say this is a kid friendly recipe.

Exhausted, she just drifted off to sleep, which means back to the research grind for me, but at least we had a lovely morning together.

Curried Egg Salad

  • 1/4 cup of mayo
  • 1/4 cup of diced onions
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 pinch of roasted garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Dijon mustard (preferably a drier mustard)
  • 4 hard boiled eggs
  • Chopped parsley (optional)

1. Stir together the first seven ingredients. Whipping them together to make a smooth dressing.

2. Throw in the hard boiled eggs and start to slice them with a fork and knife into the dressing. Then toss the dressing to be smooth. Garnish with parsley if you so desire.

3. Enjoy with a salad or sandwich. We had ours with mixed greens, heirloom tomatoes, raw zucchini, crackers, and Irish cheddar.

Leave a Reply

