Skip to content

Eggplant Bagel Sandwich

June 6, 2011

Last weekend, I had my ten year college reunion. Taking advantage of the bonding opportunity, my friends flew into town. Although we try to see each other once a year, and do a decent job of catch up emails in between, a short weekend visit did not feel like enough time to hang out. We stayed in three different places, and our schedules were slightly dictated by the three new babies, which meant there was alot of coming and going. On reflecting our early trips post-college, where the six of us lounged around together for hours and hours, I realized getting older does make bonding more complicated.

At the end of the reunion, we realized we hadn’t seen enough of each other. The group planned on having brunch on Sunday morning, to squeeze in a bit more time together. As if she knew there was going to be a moment for all of us to get together, Serafina decided to time her nap during brunch. If I have learned one golden parenting rule from my sister, it would be: Respect a baby’s sleep. When people ask why Serafina is such a calm and happy baby, I tend to deflect it. However, I think some of it has to do with the fact that, upon my sister’s advice, I decided that my schedule would not become more important than her schedule. Since sleep is when they grow, learn, recover, shifting around naps for adult schedules just sets the day up for a disaster. This baby decided her growing, learning, and recovering would happen two hours later than normal. Dragging a tired baby to brunch just didn’t seem like a smart idea, more like a selfish one, so with much frustration, I stayed home.

To make the situation better, I decided I must make a delicious lunch to make up for the loss. Looking at our slowly depleting fridge due to our move next week (NEXT WEEK!!), I had a few random ingredients to make this sandwich, man was it delicious.  Not as sweet as the company of friends, but the perfect substitute.

Eggplant Bagel Sandwich

  • 1 whole wheat bagel
  • 1-2 tb hummus
  • 2 leaves of romaine
  • 3 slices of grilled eggplant
  • 3 rings of sliced red onion
  • 1 tsp paprika

1. Toast your bagel.

2. Slather a side of the bagel with hummus and sprinkle with paprika

3. Then pile on on the lettuce, onion and eggplant.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 7:44 am

    What a good mom you are…is Maeve the same baby you usually refer to as Serifina?

    • June 7, 2011 8:36 am

      haha! you caught me. i tend to call her by her middle name on the blog to keep her a little more anonymous. oops!

Leave a Reply

