Skip to content

Vegetarian Kid Friendly Tip: Eating a Rainbow

May 19, 2011

This weekend I stumbled upon the website Today I Ate a Rainbow. The website talks about the health benefits of varying the colors of fruits and veggies to make sure a child has a nutritious diet. All of us tend to fall into food traps, forgetting to vary our foods, and especially our veggies. I have to really remind myself to give Serafina something each day. It is not only important to vary your ingredients for health reasons, but to also avoid picky eating. Predictability in eating fuels anxiety about new and different foods. For this reason, we slowed down our Washington Green Grocer box delivery. We weren’t getting the variety we needed to vary Serafina’s diet. Now, we get it every few weeks, which allows for grocery convenience and variety in consumption.

The Today I Ate a Rainbow site sells a color coded chart that you can put on your fridge. Your child adds a coordinating magnet for each color fruit or veggie s/he enjoyed that day. I like the idea for two reasons, first it helps children become involved in understanding healthful food is a variety of colors and nutrients. Second, it is goal orientated, and treats eating healthy as a goal to be rewarded. My only critique would be that the chart and magnet can be made by the kids themselves. This is a way to allow creativity and pride in their chart. I applaud the efforts of the website to educate parents, as they have a blog that lends tips, education, and advice. I found some great ones for tackling picky eating and how to prevent your children from picking up bad eating habits. So, if you need some inspiration for varying your family’s diet, make sure you eat a rainbow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 4:46 pm

    Hi there…it’s Kia (the mom behind Today I Ate A Rainbow!) just wanted to thank you for sharing our rainbow kit with your readers!!

    I originally made a chart with my daughter who was 4 at the time, we made our own magnets and laminated our chart…she drew a rainbow on it and we had a great time making it together. So I totally agree with you that if parents have the time they can have fun making a chart with their child(ren)! We created our rainbow kit as a complete and easy tool for parents to open up and use right away but if parents can make one then I’m all for it 🙂

    I have really enjoyed looking through your site! Thanks again for letting your readers know about our rainbow kits!

    Looking forward to spending more time on your site!

    Cheers
    Kia

    • May 21, 2011 10:18 pm

      Thanks for visiting! I totally agree, there are some people that won’t take the time to make the rainbow with their kids, so your website helps them. Blame the progressive teacher in me, that I really hope parents make and do more with their children. Regardless, your ideas are helping families eat healthier. Kudos to you!

      Thanks!
      VS

Leave a Reply

