Skip to content

Vegetarian Kid Friendly Tip: Let Them Eat Cake, errr I mean, Ice Cream!

May 3, 2011

Children need to be involved in the kitchen, and supplying a variety of meals in which they can participate is ideal.

The other night, my sister-in-law was cooking dinner with her children and  working on her guest blogging post for this Friday. The activity around making and photographing the food struck the curiosity of my niece, LG.  She wanted to blog as well; her recipe being a sundae of course! Instead of belaboring over giving the kids sweets or not, my sister-in-law seized the moment helping LG get excited about cooking. She often incorporates her children in the kitchen, and including LG on the blog is just another moment to help children learn about sharing food and recipes. A talented dessert maker, this little salmon is on her way to becoming a world class chef! My heart melted when I read this post, especially her title for the sundae, I can’t wait to see her soon!

From JR and LG:
“What’s a blog?” That’s what my seven-year-old asked me while I was photographing
our dinner. I explained that her aunt created a website where she shares her thoughts,
recipes and photos. So my daughter asked if she could send her aunt one of her own
recipes. I said “Sure!” and then a quick, “Um, what recipe were you thinking of making?”
Clearly, she wanted an excuse to make sundaes that night because she answered, “My
famous banana split sundae!” This is really a daddy and kids moment because while
mommy loves to cook and photograph food, mommy is not the ice cream fanatic in the
house.

Daddy and Me Sundaes

  • 1 cup Whipping Cream
  • 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar
  • Ice Cream in a variety of flavors
  • Bananas
  • Chocolate Sauce
  • Crushed Nuts
  • Candy Bits like sliced Peanut Butter Cups
  • Cherries

Whip cream in a very cold bowl, adding a little bit of powdered sugar while it’s whipping.

Assemble sundae with your favorite combination of ingredients.

Share with someone you love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

