Skip to content

Curly Q Crispy Kale

April 28, 2011

With our new box from Washington Green Grocer, we found a bunch of curly kale. What perfect timing, as Serafina’s curly q hair is finally coming in! I am so relieved.

Fifteen years ago, you would have not seen me rooting for my daughter to have curly hair. After spending a childhood of yanking out my curls with a brush, teen years of awkwardly washing out frizz, and my college years of using a straightening iron to get my hair look normal, I could say I battled with my curly hair. No one in my family had out of control curls. They had beautiful photogenic hair. Looking at pictures, I often felt that my crazy curls were a problem. To make a joke of it, I wore wacky hairstyles and started a curly q club on my cross country team. For a school filled with straight hair, there was a disproportionate number of curly q’s on the team. It wasn’t until my early 20s when I learned to use less shampoo, not brush my hair, and let my hair be natural-more. Maybe it was meeting AAM, who loved it when I let my hair curly, or just becoming more comfortable with myself, but I pretty much let my hair go wild all the time these days. It feels more me. And why am I excited for my daughter to become a curly q? To be able to share, in all the curly hair care, and try to help her be a confident member of the curly q club. Of course, I know there is always something that teenagers find uncomfortable with themselves, but it is nice to know I can help her in at least one area.

Although many people get nervous about the bitterness of Kale, you can trick the veggie into being tasty (Here is a really yummy spicy kale pasta recipe). A good thing, since it is an extremely healthy superfood. This recipe is a good snack, and can be a healthy replacement for chips or fries. Tonight, I snacked on ours, then I placed it on top of a bowl of pasta and red sauce.  I cut up a few pieces into tiny bits to put in Serafina’s pastini. The measurements below are just guesstimates, so sprinkle the salt and garlic powder as generously as you want. Some people go with real garlic in this recipe, but since I am all about speed with crispy kale, a sprinkle of roasted garlic powder in a pinch works well. I have seen this recipe posted several times recently, on random blogs and places that I read. I didn’t refer to a recipe for mine, but I would love to thank people for their inspiration.

Curly Q Crispy Kale

  • 1 bunch of curly kale
  • 1 tb garlic powder
  • 2 tsp sea salt
  • 4 tb olive oil.

1. Pre-heat the oven 500

2. Slice up the kale into 2 inch curly strips, toss the stems inthe trash. Throw the kale in a bowl with the salt, garlic, and olive oil. Make sure it is evenly coated.

3. Spread on a baking sheet covered in aluminum foil. Bake for 8 minutes.

4. Let cool, as it becomes crispier after sitting for awhile. Serve as a snack, garnish pasta, or in a huge variety of dishes for a healthy and crunchy kick.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

