Skip to content

Kid Friendly Meal Tip: Pimento Cheese Sandwiches

April 25, 2011

In college, I nannied for a South Carolinian family who moved to the area with three children, ages 3, 7, and 11.  Since the children are nearly adults now, I would feel bad recounting all the escapades,  from potty training and lice, to learning about the energy associated with ADHD. But, to say the least, I was very closed to quitting several times, and I am not much of a quitter.  A shining light on the summer, was when their mom introduced me to a South Carolinian tradition: pimento cheese. A vegetarian, there was not much I could eat at their house, but I discovered the fat laden joy of pimento cheese. It is amazing that I actually lost weight that summer and didn’t gain any, which might tell you the types of food I ate at Kenyon.

Yesterday, we spent the day going to mass at my alma mater, playing in the garden, having a picnic with AAM’s dad and visiting my parents- a packed day! I made some pimento spread for our Easter picnic with AAM’s dad, which we served with fruit and a pesto pasta salad. A yummy treat for vegetarians, the pimento cheese spread ingredients look like something out of 1950’s cookbook. For that reason, this is an occasional indulgence for children, and not a regular one. This is great on sandwiches with a crispy romaine lettuce and juicy tomatoes, maybe even some sliced apples.

Serafina playing with the tulips after Easter Mass.

Pimento Cheese Sandwiches

  • 1 jar of pimentos, drained and rinsed
  • 1 package of cream cheese (softened)
  • 1 tb mayonaise
  • 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese (or similar cheese, we used the Mexican cheese blend package)
  • 1 cup of chopped onions
  • loaf of ciabatta bread
  • romaine lettuce
  • sliced tomato
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Mix together the pimentos, cream cheese, mayo, cheese and onions. Keep stirring until you get a smooth(er) consistency.

2. Refrigerate for an hour or more

3. Slice open your ciabatta bread. Spread the pimento cheese generously. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, the top with lettuce and tomatoes

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 10:13 pm

    Sounds delicious. Did your daughter actually eat it? My daugther won’t touch a sandwich.

    It doesn’t seem like it’s that bad. You could make it healthier by using Cabot 75% reduced fat cheese and Neufantel cream cheese.

    • April 26, 2011 8:25 am

      She loved it! She also loves cheese and bread, so I am not sure if it was the spread or the bread.

      I was thinking about the adjustments. I tend to not buy reduced fat because of what they have to do to adjust the food to being lowfat, but I’ll check the labels on those two. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. April 26, 2011 7:55 am

    Now this is something I could get Robb to eat. We happen to have a jar of pimentos in the fridge just begging to be used. What vegetable is a pimento exactly?

    • April 26, 2011 8:29 am

      A sweet pepper!

      I am so glad I finally hit a recipe he would like!

  3. April 28, 2011 1:02 pm

    I LOVE pimento cheese! Thanks for sharing this idea 🙂
    ~Jacquelyn

Leave a Reply

