Skip to content

Easter Apple Galette

April 24, 2011

I saw a version of an apple galette on  PBS’s America’s Test Kitchen, and being a person who loves fruit for dessert, I just had to try it. For those of you who don’t venture to good old PBS often, take a gander at the cooking shows. They have a good collection of famous chefs and practical food science shows. I like them because there is less panache then Food Network, but alot more background on the whys and hows in cooking. America’s Test Kitchen, related to Cooks Illustrated, find the best version of recipes and products. Of course, I don’t do everything they say, because when do I follow directions well? Instead, I cobble together the advice and stick to short cuts that make some recipes more practical. Due to the lack of skill and precision, I would say my galette turned into a tart.

So, in the spirit of being inspired, I made this apple tart, but with the puff pastry short cut. This short cut turned a non-baker into a dessert maker. The puff pastry and brown sugar make this a rich dessert, but I like to think that the apples and lemon juice negates that. Right? Right? Anyways, I decided to make these into mini-tarts so that they could be self contained desserts to enjoy with friends.

The recipe makes two tarts, or one tart and a few mini tarts. I made one for adults, and then I used our duck and bunny pancake cutters for the kiddies. I put the apples with less brown sugar on the kids version. This was not a pretty galette to look at, but a fun tart to make.

Easter Apple Galette

  • 2 sheets of puff pastry
  • 5 apples, de-cored and sliced
  • 2 tb lemon juice
  • 2 tb sugar
  • 1/2 cup of apricot preserves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2-3 tb butter cubed
  • sprinkle of powdered sugar

1. Pre-heat the oven to 425.

2. Meanwhile toss your apple slices in lemon juice. Then stir in the 2 tb sugar and salt.

3. Roll out your sheet of puff pastry, and cut it in half lengthwise. Place on parchment paper, on top of a baking sheet.

If you want to make your galette into shapes, use your cookie or pancake cutters now to shape the pastry (Just make sure to fold up the edges a bit when you pile on the apples and sugar).

4. On each puff pastry sheet, spread the apricot preserves.  Place one thin layer of apples on each pastry, slightly overlapping each other.

4. Bake for about 10 minutes.  Place the butter cubes  and sprinkle 2 more tablespoons of sugar all over your tart. Turn down the heat to 375 and bake for another 20 minutes.

Note: I did NOT turn up the edges and I got carmelized burnt edges. So, don't forget that important step!

5. Let cool, sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve with ice cream.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 8:55 pm

    Looks delicious–fruit desserts are my favorite!

Leave a Reply

