Skip to content

Project: Food Budget- Should it continue?

April 21, 2011

Tuesday, I had the day off to mark the start of Passover. This allowed Serafina and I to have a leisurely time at the grocery store. She enjoyed the sample bread and butter, I enjoyed visiting the extra large Harris Teeter, which is a little farther away. As we wandered, I thought about the trajectory of our life in the next few months. I realized finding time to post to the blog is hard enough, but an extra post about budgeting seems harder. I also think that over the last three months, I have really adjusted our spending habits, found new tricks, and gotten our budget under control. Even if I go over budget, I am still at least a hundred dollars below what we used to spend. It might be time to graduate from this project. But, I will defer to readers, give me feedback. Do you read these entries or pass over them for recipes?

Vegetarian Salmon Food Budget

two adults and one baby who eats finger foods.

Goal: $75 a week/ $300 a month

Actual:$105

Purchased: Grocery Store ($68): Eggs, flour, yeast, almond butter, vegetable broth, canned tomatoes, tomato paste, apricot jam, soy bologna, garlic, whole wheat bagels, bread, frozen pizzas, orange juice, butter, cheese sticks, 2 gallons of milk. Washington’s Green Grocer Organic Box ($37): Yellow Squash, Yams, White Mushrooms, Grape Tomatoes, Sugar Snap Peas, Romaine, Broccoli, Cara Cara Orange (red flesh), Gala Apple, Mango, Bananas, Mineola Tangelo

Special Meals this Week:

Participating Blogs:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

