Skip to content

Vegetarian Kid Tip: Humus, Hummus, Hommos, for Breakie

April 19, 2011

I am no expert in raising a veg kid. Serafina is only 13 months old, and I didn’t become a vegetarian until I was 12. There is a big gap there. However, since this blog is about the process of learning to cook for a veg family, I am hoping to post little discoveries as we go.

First up, hummus for breakfast. In the US this seems like an unusual time to eat humus, but for people in the Middle East and Mediterranean, there would be nothing unusual about the combo.  As an adult, I like to have a protein in the morning to help me get through a day packed with teaching. I normally have a whole wheat bagel with peanut or almond butter. We need quick meals since we have to be out the door by 7 am, so the convenience is the added bonus. Because Serafina can’t have nuts yet, I figured since hommos is made from beans, it would be a way to fill her up and give her a healthy breakfast. So, we toast whole wheat bread and spread some humus. After cutting it into little bits, I serve with sliced orange segments. She loves it, and I can feel comfortable that she had a healthy start to the day.

Here is my hummus recipe, but honestly on busy weeks I just buy the Harris Teeter brand.

Serafina scarfs down her hummus and toast!

Note: There are a million ways to spell humus, and it always trips me up. So, I like to spell it in ALL the ways, for fun.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 11:31 am

    Good luck with the hummus. My daughter (23 mos) now rejects anything resembling baby food – no hummus, guacamole, refried beans, mashed potatoes (white or sweet). These are all things she used to love and now refuses to eat. And she’s not a particularly picky eater. I think she just doesn’t like the texture anymore now that she can eat regular food. It was a slow transition. She’s been eating solid foods for a long time but only in the past 6 months started rejecting mushy food.

    • April 19, 2011 11:36 am

      oh no! say it ain’t so! we love all those things. life without refried beans and guac? uh oh.

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:54 pm

    Look at those adorable hummus-eating hands! Love the multiple spellings.

  3. April 19, 2011 3:47 pm

    A few years ago a friend was in grad school for anthropology, and he asked a bunch of people with diverse backgrounds to compile lists of items they consider “breakfast foods.” He said that my list was the most extensive and diverse with nearly 150 foods. What can I say–I LOVE breakfast food. Hummus might be the only thing I didn’t have on my list. Yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

