Skip to content

Vegetarian Baked Beans and Dogs

April 12, 2011

For four years, I went to sleep away camp. Although I enjoyed some parts of the camp, like canoeing, arts, and rifle (yes, I am a real steady shot), not all of it was really “me.” I would say the singing is definitely at the top of the list, followed quickly by uniforms for dinner, and general conformity that rubbed me the wrong way. The campers returned every year for the rituals associated with seniority. When my sister and I start to explain some of the rituals and traditions to our husbands, my brother-in-law loves to make all sorts of jokes about the nazi youth and hazing. You get the drift.

Serafina getting ready for summer: baseball, Bo Sox and beanies!

Maybe it is the good weather or baseball on tv, but lately I have been reflective of childhood summers. I don’t usually think of my old camp when I think of summer, so it was a complete shock to me that I started singing camp songs. I can’t remember the lyrics to classic nursery songs, so instead I sing the random songs that jump in my head. Recently, a thank you serenade that we would sing at dinner to the kitchen staff or counselors popped in my head, so I shared it with Serafina while she was falling asleep. “I love you Serafina, oh yes I do. I love you Serafina, and I will be true. When you aren’t near me, I’m blue. Oh Sera-fi-na, I. Love. You.” Waking up from her grogginess, she looked up at me and said her favorite repetitive hard G noise of approval “Gggguh” Gggguh” So, I repeated it and sang again. “I love you Serafina, oh yes I do. I love you Serafina, and I will be true. When you aren’t near me, I’m blue. Oh Sera-fi-na, I. Love. You.” She smiled, giggled, and put her hand to my mouth and said “Gggguh” “Ggggguh” Words have begun to have meaning for her, and I could tell that she understood herself in the song, and that it was a positive thing.

So, in honor of the camp that didn’t quite fit me, but lent me that song, we ate my favorite meal from camp tonight, the poorly named Beanies and Weanies (re-named below). I had never seen a food quite like this meal before going to camp, and I reintroduced it into my diet during frugal grad school years. Now, it is a meal in a pinch with a bit of protein. Serafina enjoyed the treat, and so I am thinking this will become my quick Friday night meal. Note: if you are giving a baby tofu dogs, make sure you cut it into tiny pieces so that they don’t choke.

Vegetarian Baked Beans and Dogs

  • 1 can of Bush’s baked vegetarian beans
  • 2 tofu Smart dogs, sliced.
  • 2 tb ketchup (try organic because it has no High-Fructose Corn Syrup in it)
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar

1. Put the tofu dogs, beans, and ketchup in a sauce pan. Let simmer over Low/Medium heat until warm.

2. Serve with shredded cheddar on top.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 10:48 pm

    I LOVE baked beans…total comfort food 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Project: Food Budget, I’m Back! « the vegetarian salmon

Leave a Reply

