Skip to content

Guest Posting Fridays: The Splattered Apron’s Greek Quinoa Salad

April 8, 2011

Things are still a little crazy here. We found a house! Yep, a great house. After four years of looking, we found one that we could live in a long time. The past owners took wonderful care of it and just put in a new kitchen. Once we close, I will show pictures of the kitchen, but that is not for another month and a half. However,  I am looking forward to cooking many new meals for friends and family. For now, we are processing papers, keeping our house spic and span in hopes to sell, and working like crazy. Don’t even get me started on what how the government shutdown complicates our life. Maybe AAM can start writing for the blog though!

So, all of this means that I actually didn’t make one nice dinner this week. I get teased by a co-worker for how I balance it all and cook a cool new meal each night, and well he can laugh now because we hit our tipping point. Luckily, my friend who writes a blog called The Splattered Apron sent me a guest post. Here it is:

Hi! I’m Lisa from The Splattered Apron and I am thrilled to write a guest post for The Vegetarian Salmon!  The food on my blog ranges from soup to nuts, we’re not vegetarians but we try to keep our meat consumption to a minimum.  At least, I do, I can’t really say the same for my husband who believes meat should be a part of every meal!  I try to keep meat out of my diet during the day at the very least.  I made this salad one day when I was working from home.  The recipe yields a lot more than one person can eat at one time, which makes it perfect in my book to keep on hand all week for lunches.  Please swing by The Splattered Apron to see what else we’re up to in the kitchen.

Greek Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water {or vegetable stock, which adds more flavor}
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/2 green pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup cucumber, diced
  • 2 scallions, sliced thin
  • 4 pepperoncini, stems and seeds removed, diced
  • 1/2 cup whole kalamata olives, pitted and diced {diced measures about 1/4 cup}
  • 1/2-3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese {I always go for more than less cheese but go by preference}
  • a few sprigs of fresh oregano, leaves removed and chopped
  • a few sprigs of fresh mint, leaves removed and chopped
  • 2 lemons, the zest of 1, the juice of 2
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper
Method:
To start, prepare the quinoa according to the package instructions which is 2 cups of water to 1 cup of quinoa.  Be sure to rinse the quinoa before cooking it! Rinsing it removes the bitter flavor.
The quinoa will need about 10 minutes to cook. While that’s happening, chop up the rest of the ingredients.  Try to make them as uniform as possible.
To prepare the dressing, put the chopped herbs in a small bowl with the lemon zest and juice.  Whisk in the olive oil then salt and pepper to taste.
Finally, add all ingredients to a large bowl and stir well to combine.
Half of my family is Greek so a dish with such Mediterranean flavor always reminds me of home.  It’s quick, delicious and great to have on hand for weekday lunches.
Enjoy!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2011 10:51 am

    This might be stupid, but I’ve never had quinoa before. Is it sort of like rice/couscous/orzo? Would you also use it in soups? My food upbringing was very American. And my husband is not very adventurous when it comes to trying foods that are unfamiliar to him. How might I trick him into eating quinoa? Hehe…

    I’m so excited that you found a house!!! 🙂 And we are also dreading the shutdown. Our elected officials all deserve a kick in the pants. At the very least.

    • April 8, 2011 11:37 am

      not stupid at all! it is a grain that has lots of protein, so it is a fantastic protein alternative. It is much like couscous, so you could disguise it in a salad or sauce. I think I have a few recipes on the blog with it.

      We are super excited about the house. It is pretty much everything we dreamed about having, and only ten minutes further from the city in Falls Church. You guys should come visit this summer, we need Serafina and Baby Maureen to meet. Plus, I want to meet someone with my same first and middle names!

      • April 8, 2011 9:12 pm

        No way–we had no idea that was your middle name, too! How funny…it’s my mom’s name.

    • April 8, 2011 2:38 pm

      I have used red quinoa in a soup before–it holds up really well!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Fun {A Guest Post} | The Splattered Apron

Leave a Reply

