Skip to content

Mango and Pea Shoot Quinoa Salad (Vegan)

March 28, 2011

When Spring heads our way, I like to try fresh salads that are good to bring to work or for picnics. This is a great salad, which is served cold or room temperature so it carries well. It has some unique ingredients, which makes it a great meal to talk about. As a kid my sister used to say that too much mango could kill you. Turns out, she was near correct. The fruit is related to the poison ivy family, with the same chemical in the peel. I am sure we will all manage fine though!

I found a version of this recipe on eatingwell.com and I felt inspired. I slightly modified the dish for to my own liking and our WGG new ingredient of pea shoots! The variety of colors and ingredients make this a nutrient dish. Quinoa is a high protein grain, so paired with black beans, this meal is packed with protein and iron.

Note: I have made versions of this before, but I am not making this particular one until tomorrow night. However, I got several email requests for the dish, so I am posting it pre-test. I’ll post pictures and comments tomorrow.

Mango and Pea Shoot Quinoa Salad

  • 1/2 cup quinoa, (see Note)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup of mango, diced
  • 1/2 cup of sweet bell peppers (red, yellow, or orange)
  • 1 cup  black beans, rinsed
  • 1/3 cup of vidalia onion
  • 1 cup of pea shoots

1. In a dry pan, toast the quinoa for 5 minutes over low heat. Then, add in the cup of water, and let the quinoa cook.

2. Take the rest of the ingredients and stir them together in a big bowl. When the quinoa is ready, fold it into the salad.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 10:43 pm

    Such an interesting salad!! I’ve never though to pair quinoa with some of those flavors and I’m intrigued! Love fresh mango :).

  2. April 23, 2011 7:47 am

    I just discovered pea shoots as well (love them!). How did this salad turn out? It looks scrumptious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

