Skip to content

Project Food Budget Week 10

March 24, 2011

This week we went over budget, but no biggie, especially since going over is nothing compared to what I used to spend. A little secret I learned over the last 10 years is to not sweat when you don’t meet your goals, don’t beat yourself up over it. They are just what we call them, goals. We can strive for a goal, but the real focus should be the journey. Besides, there is always next time. If I have changed at all since I was 22, and closest to me claim that I am a dramatically different person, it is in my ability to realize that it is a waste of time drown in the goals and competition. You achieve your goal because you enjoy the process. This discovery dramatically changed my approach to life. I stopped focusing on what I didn’t have or wanted, and turned to what I did have and enjoyed. That isn’t to say that I don’t question or observe those around me, but that I constantly remind myself: I am on my own journey. When conflict arises, I realize that each journey is different, and we have varied comfort levels with our own paths. And yes EB, yoga helped me get there.

Enough of that talk, time for the budget. After last week, we desperately needed to restock the fridge and pantry. I am on Spring Break, so I wanted to enjoy cooking to relax and eat healthy. We also went over budget because of the very hungry baby in our house. Last night, she ate 1/2 cup of blueberries, 1/3 cup of cucumber, 1 slice of cheese, 1/2 slice of wheat bread with hummus, 1/2 cup of beets….FOR DINNER!  I think we have a growth spurt coming. She didn’t gain a pound since December, but she grew three inches. We are due for some hunger. Plus, we have a new addition to our weekly purchases, whole milk! Serafina is now officially 1, so instead of buying formula we get to save money on milk. Previously, I didn’t include formula in the weekly food budget. At $30 a week, it killed our food budget. To fix this, we bought it on Amazon in bulk with the diapers, so it was in the baby budget with diapers. After talking, we are opting to continue to buy organic milk. Although it is pricier, I just can’t think fake hormones in food can be good for anyone, especially a 22lb baby. I am willing to spend an extra dollar on milk, by cutting out a cup of coffee of Starbucks. Price is relative when you realize how many ways we waste money in other financial areas of our life.

Vegetarian Salmon Food Budget

two adults and one baby who eats finger foods.

Goal: $75 a week/ $300 a month

Actual:$110

Purchased: Grocery Store ($77): BOGO whole wheat bread thins, BOGO whole wheat pasta, BOGO blueberries and raspberries, black beans, black refried beans (on sale), tortillas, organic cottage cheese, deli sliced American cheese (on sale), organic whole milk (on sale), orange juice (on sale), apple juice (on sale), tofurkey blogna(on sale), certified humane eggs (on sale), hummus, ravioli (on sale), and mayonaise . Washington’s Green Grocer Organic Box ($37): Parnsips, Portabello Mushrooms, Pea Shoots, Sweet Potatoes, Sugar Snap Peas, Red Leaf Lettuce, Green Chard, Bananas, Braeburn Apple, Blueberries, Navel Oranges, and Ruby Red Grapefruit.

Special Meals this Week:

Participating Blogs:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sari permalink
    March 24, 2011 9:48 am

    Can you post the recipes for the Mango and Black Bean Quinoa and sweet potato risotto? They both sound delicious!

    • March 24, 2011 12:28 pm

      I will! I plan on making them within the next few days!

  2. March 24, 2011 1:51 pm

    Wow! That is a lot of food for dinner. I’d say she’s in growth spurt mode, indeed.

    I love your thoughts here about enjoying what you’ve got. I have a favorite quote in that area:

    “For most of life, nothing wonderful happens. If you don’t enjoy getting up and working and finishing your work and sitting down to a meal with family or friends, then the chances are that you’re not going to be very happy. If someone bases his happiness or unhappiness on major events like a great new job, huge amounts of money, a flawlessly happy marriage or a trip to Paris, that person isn’t going to be happy much of the time. If, on the other hand, happiness depends on a good breakfast, flowers in the yard, a drink or a nap, then we are more likely to live with quite a bit of happiness. —Andy Rooney

  3. March 28, 2011 9:29 am

    I am really interested in the black bean, mango and quinoa recipe. Would you mind sharing it?

Leave a Reply

