Skip to content

Guest Blogging Fridays: Grandma Grace’s Play Dough

March 19, 2011

So, I have been sent so many wonderful new recipes that I am going to start placing guest blogging posts on Fridays. This way everyone has something new to try on the weekends, and I can stop fretting about having a new recipe to make Thursday nights. This first  post for Guest Blogging Fridays is a perfect one for the weekend.

Knowing about the busy stress in our household, my friend CW saved the day by sending me her favorite play dough recipe. An expert in the field of play dough making, CW’s mom taught elementary school for years. This recipe makes CW’s favorite childhood play dough. Just another way to save money, and well eat your toys! I am thinking of doing this with Serafina when things simmer down for us….

From CW: One of my favorite things to do as a kid was to “cook” with play dough.  I spent hours making cookies, pies, pizza, etc. at my Strawberry Shortcake table off the kitchen.  That said, I was really excited for my own kids to start enjoying play dough – mainly so I could join in on the fun again.  I bought the variety pack from the store with all the new crazy fluorescent colors, but something about it just wasn’t right.  I was never really happy with the texture and feel of it.  Also, it dried out too quickly.  Mostly though, it just smelled wrong.  I complained to Grandma about the poor quality of play dough these days, and, as usual, she had a solution for me – her homemade play dough recipe!  She brought it over the next day and I cooked up my first batch that evening after the kids when to sleep.  I was done in about ten minutes, and when I dumped out the dough on the counter and began kneading it, I remember thinking, ”Hmmmm, now that’s how play dough is supposed to smell.”  Memories of afternoons spent “cooking” with my Mom flooded back, and I’m pretty sure I spent at least thirty minutes playing,  er – kneading, the dough before putting it away for my own kids that night.

Grandma Grace’s Play Dough

  • 1 cup flour
  • ½ cup salt
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 cup water
  • Food coloring (optional)
  1. Mix together to the flour, salt, and cream of tartar in a saucepan.
  2. Add the oil and water to the mix.
  3. Cook for three minutes or until the mixture pulls away from the sides of the pan.
  4. Remove the dough from the pan and knead it a bit once it cools.  If you want to add food coloring, add it during the kneading process.

Seriously, this is so easy to make, you’ll never buy it in the store again.  Also, you won’t worry too much when your kids eat it since you know what’s in it – although they’ll probably only do that once since it has so much salt in it.  I didn’t add color to my latest batch since my kids are still at the age where it gets everywhere…but adding color is an experiment in and of itself for little people (and big ones).   Just remember to get lots of containers for all your new color creations!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    March 22, 2011 11:50 pm

    Just learned about a recent early childhood study connecting fine motor and reasoning skills and how play dough is one of the best things for parents to get their kids to play with:)

Leave a Reply

