Skip to content

Spicy Kale and White Bean Penne Pasta

March 12, 2011

I am tired, so tired. Did I mention I am tired? Ok enough of the whining. I tried to be a champ all week, but I can’t see the end of the tunnel with all the work I have to do, so I needed to whine about it for just a second. Thank you. I tried to have a late day soda, but I still hit a wall at 7pm. I almost went to sleep at 7:30. That was, until I realized we didn’t have dinner. It is funny. I tell myself I am just going to eat a snack. But then, the fridge door opens, and I think of what that fresh vegetable on the shelf would go well with, and bam time to cook! It is similar to getting the motivation to run. At first you won’t get off the couch, but once you change, you start to warm up to the idea. Ten minutes in? You embrace it and go crazy. So get off your couch and mix some ingredients together!

Since we cooked my standard use for kale, Colcannon, last week, I needed to come up with something to do with the kale from our Washington Green Grocer’s Box from this week. Spontaneously, we decided on mixing it with pasta tonight. Kale is bitter, so it is best to mix it with sweet ingredients. I added sauteed onions, butter, and cannellini beans to the mix. Honestly, the kale was not bitter at all, and the broth, bean starch, and butter made a nice creamy sauce. We thought it was really good, and makes for a perfect early spring dish. And well, the spicyness just about woke me up, for a bit anyways.

This recipe would work with another green or with chickpeas.

Kale and White Bean Penne Pasta

  • 1/2 cup of chopped onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • olive oil
  • 1 bunch of kale, chopped
  • 1 can of cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/3 cup of veggie broth
  • 2 tsp red pepper flakes (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tb butter (or vegan substitute)
  • 3/4 lb whole wheat pasta (we mixed whole wheat and regular penne)
  • 1/2 cup of Pecorino Romano cheese (or bread crumbs for vegan substitute)

1. In a pan, saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil, until transclucent.

2.Meanwhile boil a pot of water. When it is ready, throw the pasta in the pot, and let cook on low per directions on the box.

3. In the saute pan, when the onions are ready, throw in the kale, butter, veggie broth, beans, red pepper flakes, salt. Let simmer for 10-12 minutes while the pasta cooks.

4. Drain the pasta, and throw it into the kale saute. Mix in the Pecorino cheese.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2011 10:51 am

    I wish I had seen this earlier. I did a very similar dish, but yours looks and sound much tastier! I will have to try this soon.

  2. March 19, 2011 8:52 pm

    I made this tonight and it was amazing!

    • March 22, 2011 9:24 am

      Excellent! I am glad you enjoyed the dish. It was definitely a last minute spontaneous creation that is now going to be a regular meal for us!

Trackbacks

  1. Project: Food Budget, Week 9 « the vegetarian salmon
  2. Curly Q Crispy Kale « the vegetarian salmon
  3. Brussels Sprout Curry « the vegetarian salmon

Leave a Reply

