Skip to content

Guest Blogging: CN’s Super Berry Muffins

March 11, 2011
It seems that my sister and sister-in-law can sense when I am overwhelmed with work, grad school, or general life changes. This week grades are due, while I sink under a pile of research papers, plan a completely new course, and well, de-clutter our house to put it on the market next week. However, I didn’t really even complain to them, they just knew! Unsolicited, CN sent me a guest post; they are such sweet miracles.

From CN:

I have a really hard time feeding my toddler,IBN, fruits and veggies. As he is just developing real chewing skills, every meal can keep me a little on edge. Some say the best fruit/veggie for babies and toddlers learning texture are bananas and avocados. Well, banana is the definition for hives in our family, and wasting 2 bucks on a bad off-season avocado is beyond frustrating. Growing up, I was the child who used to prepare for armageddon by hoarding hohos and twinkies under my bed, my mind naturally turns to bake goods. A great hit with IBN are muffins. Muffins can very in texture so I believe (with absolutely no real knowledge on the subject) that it is great for little ones learning how to use their new found teeth. This recipe is doctored up to include 1-2 fruit servings, Omega 3 fats, protein and a veggie if you wish. Many free spirited people say they are afraid of baking because of “exact measurements.” The perfect part of using a box is that the right amount of baking soda/powder is all included. I promise you can not mess this up.  But in the end I’m not trying to be a gourmet baker, just trying to make food my son will eat!

Super Berry Muffins

  • 1 box of REAL blueberry muffin mix (check for sodium content! and that berries are not imitation. berries should be in a separate pouch in case you decide to opt for only fresh)
  • 1 container of raspberry/strawberry superbotic yogurt (protein!!)
  • 1/3 cup of flax seeds (omega fats are great for you so I’ve heard, and fish oil doesn’t really go in this recipe)
  • 2-3 cups of blueberries/strawberries mix and match!
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 whole milk (more protein and calcium)
  • 2TB of vegetable oil (yogurt really replaces this so feel free to skip)

1.Pre- heat the oven to 400

2. Spray muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray (a bakers version is totally not necessary). you will not need paper liners if you spray well.

3. Mix the ingredients together, stirring to make a smooth batter.

4. Spoon the batter into the muffin pan, cleaning off excess on the sides. Bake for 18 min or until top of muffins are brown.  I make big muffins, so this usually amounts to 10-11. Wrap 6-8 up in plastic wrap and freeze for later use. Two day old muffins are not good.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 9:20 am

    Those look and sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

