Skip to content

Pasta in a Creamy Mushroom Sauce

March 6, 2011

Whenever one of my 7th grade student’s have their birthday, I always ask if they are requesting something special for dinner or if their family has a meal they like to eat for birthdays. I like the question because it is a rather benign insight into their favorites. No need to bring up parties or gifts, because that inherently raises issues of class. However, if you ask about their favorite meal, the entire group of pre-teens bubble with stories about what they like to eat and request for their birthday. From Indian curry to Ethiopian food, my students live in a very diverse city, and thus have been exposed to a fascinating array of cuisines. Asking about food is a universal way to relate with someone, and students like the query about their likes and dislikes. I love hearing their perspective on the world of food. This year, I even have a few budding chefs, so instead of telling the students to stop talking about Justin Bieber, I have to tell them to stop talking about how to make sushi and get back to work on their maps.

Despite popular opinion of the next generation, I don’t find students selfish. When I ask them about their favorite food, they are sure to turn back to me, truly interested, and ask about my favorite birthday food. There is a give and take with teenagers, and adults just need to remember to give a bit more and students will return with sincerity. Knowing from various conversations that I love Indian food, students usually guess that my birthday dinner would be Indian. However, for at least seven years straight, when I was a teenager myself, I requested mushroom ravioli in a creamy mushroom sauce. My mom only made it for my birthday, and the earthy flavors mixed with my favorite food, pasta, made me feel so special. Serafina’s birthday is coming up, and I am starting to wonder what she will love, what her meal request will be.

This sauce works particularly well with ravioli, short pastas, and linguine.

Creamy Mushroom Sauce

  • 2 cups of sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup of chopped onions
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup of cream
  • 2 tb butter
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup of Pecorino Romano cheese
  • salt and pepper
  • 1-2  tb flour (optional)

1. In a large sauce pan, over low heat, slowly saute your mushrooms and onion in the olive oil. Let the mushrooms simmer out the juice, and cook until brown.

2. Meanwhile boil water and cook your pasta to al dente (slightly undercooked).

3. Add cream, milk, and butter to the mushrooms. Then, stir in the cheese, and nutmeg. Let the mushrooms soak up the sauce a bit. Turn the heat from low to medium and let the cream sauce simmer. If it seems too watery, add a little flour. Turn down the heat, and add salt and pepper to taste.

4. Toss in your drained pasta, and let simmer together.

5. Serve warm with a light sprinkling of Pecorino on top.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 8:12 pm

    I made this for dinner tonight and it is amazing!!! Thank you for posting!

  2. Katherine permalink
    April 10, 2011 9:01 am

    I made this the other night and just loved it! It is so simple and quick. Just delicious.

Trackbacks

  1. Colcannon Cakes (Potato Cakes) « the vegetarian salmon
  2. Project: Food Budget, Week 8 « the vegetarian salmon

Leave a Reply

