Skip to content

Sweet Potato and Chickpea Curry

February 28, 2011

This is a first attempt at making curry or really any Indian-esque meal. It definitely is not authentic, or complicated, but I thought I would give it a try. Every recipe had a different ingredient that we did not have at home. So, I tried to put together what we had, thus a curry in a pinch. I encourage you to throw together your own curry, with a sauce that varies based on your kitchen cabinet. Nobody has to know that your dish is not authentic. I recommend smelling your ingredients as you cook, often I know if something will go by their smell next to each other. After simmering for awhile, I added in salt, hot sauce, and ginger. It just seemed to go better. Smell and taste, go with what you love. There are no rules here.

AAM said “It smells like Indian food AND Christmas!” He also thought it tasted good.

Sweet Potato and Chickpea Curry

  • 2 sweet potatoes, diced
  • 2 cups of chickpeas
  • 3-4 cups of spinach, chopped
  • 1 cup of yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup and 1 tb of cream
  • 1 cup of veggie broth
  • 1 tb curry powder
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cloves, ground
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper
  • olive oil
  • 3 tsp kosher salt, divided
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tb hot sauce (optional and to personal taste)

1. Preheat the oven to 375.

2. Toss the sweet potatoes in olive oil, 2 tsp of salt and pepper. Roast in the oven for 20-30 minutes. Meanwhile, prep your veggies.

3. In olive oil, saute your onion and spinach (splash broth on top to help the spinach along). Once the onion is translucent and spinach cooked down,  add the curry, turmeric, cloves, cinnamon, ginger, rest of the salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, veggie broth, and cream.  Let simmer for two minutes.

4. Add in the sweet potatoes, chickpeas, and hot sauce. Sir and let simmer for another 2 minutes to whenever. I let it simmer longer to let the flavors meld together. However, if you are ready to go, no worries.

5. Serve with rice, naan, or warmed pita.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 8:34 pm

    This looks so good- I bet HDW would love it too!

  2. Elizabeth permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:38 am

    This looks delightful and easy enough that I will actually cook it. Check back with me in a week, and if I haven’t cooked it, you need to take some kind of action against me. I will comment once again once I’ve made it. Love it!!!!

Leave a Reply

