Skip to content

Book Review: The Silver Spoon.

February 27, 2011

“Eating is a Serious Matter.”– The Silver Spoon

Every household in my family owns this book, including my in-laws. Long the staple in Italian homes, when they finally published it in English, this was my staple gift.  With over 2000 recipes, the book is the holy book of Italian cooking. Similar to the Joy of Cooking, the explanations are simple, and each page packs 2-3 recipes, at least. What I treasure about the book is that it is fresh Italian cooking, the type my mother cooks. This book is not a drenching-your-food-in-cheese-marinara-breading Italian cookbook ( See Lidia Bastianach for that). The Silver Spoon highlights a huge variety of foods and gives you several simple preparations that will leave your core ingredient the star of the dish.  The book is hefty at 2000 pages, the  index itself is about 50 pages. When I was a pescetarian, I used it often because of the fantastic diversity in preparation of fish. However, I tucked it away when I returned to vegetarianism. I just assumed from the hundreds of pages of meats that it wasn’t veg friendly.

Just the other day, I passed the book, and the spoon on the cover seemed to scream “OPEN ME!” I picked it up and set it on our kitchen table for further inspiration. Finally, when Serafina fell asleep for her morning nap, I picked up the book and almost jumped for joy. I realized that the first 600 pages are all sauces, pasta, and vegetable dishes. The final 100 pages of recipes are desserts. I could reunite with my old love The Silver Spoon! This makes it well worth a buy for vegetarians, especially since it is $32.97 on Amazon. Looking up beets, since we have three sitting in our fridge, I found a recipe with bechamel sauce, mmmm. There are a few vegetable recipes with pancetta mixed in, but I find that is an easy ingredient to replace. There are so many vegetables that I treat with disdain, such as celery, that the book makes me consider with new found respect. Celery with gorgonzola and white wine vinegar anyone? This is the perfect book to compliment our new efforts to save money. Have an odd ingredient you aren’t sure how to highlight in a new way? Check out The Silver Spoon.

Note: I would not recommend this for vegans, as many of the dishes have cream/egg/ or other non-vegan foods.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Colleen permalink
    February 27, 2011 10:51 am

    Hey hey hey. I do not own this book. But if I bring another cookbook into the house Andrew might flip out. My favorite cook book is silly, but its “Better Homes and Gardens Newlywed cookbook”. I go there for all basic recipes that I’m to embarrassed to say I don’t know how to cook. It also is great for recipes with few ingredients.

    Do you have any suggestions for cookbooks for jazzing up a salad?

    • February 27, 2011 4:08 pm

      Ok Colleen, you are right, I never gave you one. However, your were still in college when I bought them as gifts. Guess what you are getting for your birthday???

      Jazzing up salad, just pile on whatever is in your fridge. I am an anything goes salad person. Keep on hand nuts, dried fruit, and then throw whatever on top.

  2. February 27, 2011 2:59 pm

    Thanks for the review! I hadn’t heard of the cookbook and am really intrigued. I’m adding to the my Amazon wish list! Thanks 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

