Skip to content

Green Beans, Potato, and Goat Cheese Frittata

February 13, 2011

I have previously written about frittatas, suffice to say my grandmother cooked frittatas frequently. When I cook eggs, I use the orange mixing bowls she gave me for when I ventured into living alone. Sturdy, with rubber bottoms, the bowls are absolutely the most useful and fantastic item in the kitchen.  The only major problem I had with them is that I am not a huge fan of the color orange. So of course, when she gave them to me, the early twenties, immature version of me could only look at them and see orange. Why would she give me something so, orange? I don’t scream orange! Doesn’t she know that I don’t scream orange? Make sure you read that last comment with a high pitched whiny, spoiled voice.  Now, as a slightly less immature 30-something, I appreciate their utility, sentimentality, and yes, orange spunk. They don’t match a single thing I own, thus they don’t shrink away into the whites, blues and blacks of our kitchen. Every time I open the cabinet, I see them jumping out of me as if to singing “Ser-a-FI-na.” Some days, when I am in a hurry, they just shout my grandmother’s nickname “FRAN!” For years down the road, when Serafina and I are baking cookies (ha ha, I mean really laugh at the idea of me baking), I can be sure that I will remember where those orange bowls came from, which shout for me to tell her that they are from her namesake. Maybe, my grandmother knew what she was doing. Isn’t it funny that to children gifts are a sign of someone knowing you, but to an adult the gift is about rememberance.

Waking up at dawn, a quarter or so before Serafina and AAM, I thought about what we would eat today. I decided to be economical and tasty, so I focused on our bag of green beans, red potatoes, and the piles of mixed salad we have. The choice became clear: Fritatta for brunch and a Nicoise salad for dinner. After a quick trip to the store, I set up shop. I decided to saute all the potatoes and green beans first, then split the portions for brunch and dinner.

Thus,  we stretched ingredients over two meals and nothing goes to waste. So first up, the frittata. I actually placed a salad on top of this frittata. Ina Garten has a breaded chicken recipe where she does this, and I think it is a nice twist. Lettuce under a frittata reminds me of jello molds and potlucks, besides most people just ignore the lettuce. On top, you still have the healthy lettuce, and a surprise underneath!

Green Beans, Potato and Goat Cheese Frittata

  • 1 cup of green beans, ends picked off and sliced in half
  • 1 cup of sliced red potato
  • 1/2 cup of red onion
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 tb goat cheese, crumbled
  • 1/2 tb kosher salt
  • 1/2 tb ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup of lettuce mix
  • olive oil
  • Pam Spray, or something to grease your pan well if you don’t have a non-stick pan.

1.Preheat the oven at 375

2. Saute onions and potatoes in olive oil for about 5 minutes. Add the green beans, sprinkle the salt, and let the mixture cook over low/medium heat. Be sure you stir the ingredients, since the potatoes can stick.

3. Whisk together the eggs and ground pepper. Break apart the goat cheese and sprinkle it in.

4. When the potatoes are almost cooked, remove the mixture from the pan temporarily. Spray pan generously with oil, then throw the green beans and potatoes back in the pan. Pour the egg and goat cheese mixture on top. Let sit on the oven for 3-4 minutes, so the egg can set.

5. Once most of the egg is cooked, but the top is still a little wet, take your saute pan and place it in the oven for 5 minutes. After 5 min, turn on your broil and let it sit for an additional 2 min. Take your frittata out of the oven and let cool. Then flip it out of the pan.

6. Serve with lettuce mix on top. Sprinkle with good olive oil, salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

