Skip to content

Project: Food Budget, Week 5

February 10, 2011

As many of you know, we have been sick over here,which means our eating habits have been interrupted. Honestly, since my nose is stuffed and my throat sore, the only thing I am consistent about is drinking fluids and eating citrus. Therefore, we haven’t been doing much cooking over here, which means not much shopping either. So, this week is not really fair for the budgeting. However, I am going to try and cook a few new recipes this week. Due to the fact that I was eating so much grapefruit plain, I had to put off my grapefruit barley recipe.  Hopefully, I can attempt it this upcoming week. Besides the recent sickness, it seems that this challenge has really helped us save money. If anything, it helped me search for Washington Green Grocer, and the box that arrived last night is quite the fruit and veggie fun basket!

Vegetarian Salmon Food Budget

two adults and one baby who eats finger foods.

Goal: $75 a week/ $300 a month

Actual:$47

Purchased: Tortillas, Cheese, Orange juice. Washington Green Grocer box: 2 Bok Choy, Button Mushrooms, Spinach, Green Beans, Red leaf lettuce, 4 potatoes, 3 Pears, 2 Avocados, 3 Apples, 4 Oranges, and a Mango

Special Meals this Week:

Participating blogs:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 7:28 pm

    Feel better!

    How do you do the Nicoise salad, btw?

  2. February 13, 2011 10:52 am

    That is an amazing weekly grocery price! Did this include the cost ofyou box ofveggies? I want to get our weekly bill down to $50 but our box costs $30/week so that only leave $20 for everything else.

    • February 13, 2011 3:16 pm

      Yep, it includes our box, which is about the same cost as yours. What we do is rely heavily on our box and a deep pantry. Then, I use the $20 to restore our pantry with what is one sale. I watch the cycles closely and won’t buy anything full price. It seems to work, although some weeks we spend more than others. For example, we already did our shopping for next week, and I know we will be much closer to our $75 goal because we needed more staples.

  3. February 17, 2011 7:21 am

    I am amazed by this! I need you to teach me how to do this! Do you eat out at all? Do you plan your meals before you go shopping or just put together meals from things you already have and bought on sale.

    • February 17, 2011 10:03 am

      We do eat out once a week. I keep a stock of pasta, homemade sauce, soup, salad, frozen leftovers, and mexican food ingredients for nights we are in a pinch. We just slowly stock up, and only buy when there are sales. We are pretty familiar with the sale cycle at our grocery store. We tend to buy our staples when they are on sale, which is often buy one get one.

      For planning, after the CSA sends us a list of what our week is going to be, I make a plan of the items I need to make a full meal. If you look at the recipes on the blog, our meals are veggie heavy and I buy virtually no processed foods (except for pasta and bread). So, I look at the vegetable as the main course, and any staple as a compliment to the meal. We also don’t buy any drinks but milk and OJ. I put wine in a different budget.

      Our weak point is cheese. I love it, and buy it alot. We have a wine shop that has local cheeses, and I just go coo coo over it. Our daughter is only 11 months, so she is not off of formula yet. I imagine milk will make it much harder for us to meet our goal, although in the long run we will be saving because we won’t be buying organic formula anymore.

Leave a Reply

