Skip to content

Spinach and Mushroom Sweet Potatoes

February 9, 2011

I really didn’t want to cook tonight. Seriously. Today was busy with teaching, grading, planning, meeting with students, and then I got the phone call all working moms dread, “Your-daughter-has-a-high-fever-and-must-be-picked-up” call. This was particularly frustrating because I am pretty sure the fever is from the tooth coming in, but policy is policy. In between class and study hall, I ran to daycare, picked Serafina up, drove back to school, scooted her on her stroller to my classroom, put the white noise from iTunes on my computer, and shhh’d the students during study hall. Seriously, I might consider having a fake sleeping baby in the room at all times, the students were very serious about letting Serafina rest. Have I ever mentioned that I love my students?

On my drive home, I kept thinking, I haven’t eaten since breakfast, I am tired, and there is NO way I am cooking dinner tonight. I was ready to call Lost Dog. However, greeted with my Washington Green Grocer box at my doorstep, I became curious. Once Serafina settled, I opened the box and became elated! Avocados! Spinach! Mushrooms! Yum, Yum!  I decided to just throw my favorite ingredients together. Recently, I put two and two together and figured out that sweet potatoes were ideal for re-stuffing because they have such a thick shell. At some point, I will probably make twiced baked sweet potatoes, but for tonight I wanted something healthier.  A vitamin rich, nutritious,  and tasty meal, this was rather easy to make. Good thing, because I am drowning in grading right now. No time to chat,  15 more rough drafts on various presidential administrations to edit. Next up: “Franklin Pierce: the Overzealous Patriot”, love it!

Spinach and Mushroom Sweet Potatoes

  • 2 Sweet Potatoes
  • 3 cups of spinach
  • 1 package of baby mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup of red onions, diced
  • 3 tb olive oil, divided
  • Splash of water
  • Salt and pepper to taste.
  • Walnuts, almonds, etc for garnish.

1. Pre-heat the oven to 400.

2. Slice your sweet potatoes in half lengthwise, and roll in 1 tb of olive oil. Place in a baking dish and bake for about an hour.

3. With five minutes left of your sweet potatoes baking, saute the onion over medium/high heat in 1 tb of olive oil. When translucent, add the spinach and mushrooms. Throw on a splash of water if the spinach appears to be burning. Saute until the veggies are cooked, but under-cooking will add good flavor and texture to your meal.

4. Take the sweet potatoes out of the oven, let cool for a minute or two. Spoon out the flesh of the potato, place it in a bowl, and put the potato shell on the plate. Add spinach saute, salt, pepper, and the rest of the olive oil. Stir together well, mixing carefully. If the spinach looks too big, use a knife to cut it up while you mix it.

5. Spoon back into the sweet potato shell and serve. Garnish with walnuts or almonds for extra protein.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. marcela permalink
    February 9, 2011 10:24 pm

    hi maureen!
    i also did not feel like cooking tonight and caved to the path of least resistance. i did not have a box of fresh produce to spark my culinary curiosity. thanks to you, the same will not be true next week:) i just signed up with WGG and put you down in the referral field. i hope that leads to cash and/ prizes for the salmons. how do you know about all these cool things around town? not sure how you keep in the know, but bravo!

    • February 10, 2011 5:48 am

      I just pepper my co-workers with questions. Really it is obnoxious, but it works. You need to have really cool co-workers though 😉

  2. Melsisa permalink
    February 10, 2011 8:36 am

    I love sweet potatoes. This looks like a delicious, quick meal. Can’t wait to try next week.

Trackbacks

  1. Project: Food Budget, Week 5 « the vegetarian salmon

Leave a Reply

