Skip to content

Project: Food Budget, Week Four

February 3, 2011

Yay! This week was a super budget week! We joined Washington’s Green Grocer and a box of food arrived at our door last night. Packed with all-organic fruits and veggies, the box cost $37. Additionally, our grocery shopping for the week was only 1 bag of lentils, milk and eggs. We were $24 under budget, for the week. Over the past month, we went over budget once, but we have lived largely under budget. One thing to mention, in the past, we were never under $100. But, with the goal of staying under $75, we found many ways to eat well under, including joining Washington’s Green Grocer, which eliminated the need to make big trips to the store. I was so pleased/excited/enthused. The box has more than enough for the three of us this week. I mean LOOK at this box:

Too bad I was too sick to cook last night. When confronted with picking up staples, I looked at grocery shopping as time to buy needs, instead of wants. We have not been living on meager rations either, just check out some of the past recipes! We were $66 under budget, but saved about $150 from the month before.

Reflections from this week:

  • Having a delivery service takes out the need to go to a grocery store for big purchases. Instead, we pick up one or two staples a week.
  • When I send AAM to get three ingredients, he always comes back with just those ingredients. I am in awe of his ability to pass everything, especially the lure of the cheese aisle!
  • Instead of listing plain pasta and other boring items, I am going to list just the new fun things I am making based off my Green Grocer box. Nobody needs to know the amount of pasta or burritos we eat.

Vegetarian Salmon Food Budget

two adults and one baby who eats finger foods.

Goal: $75 a week/ $300 a month

Actual:$51

Purchased: Lentils, Black Beans, Milk, Eggs, Washington Green Grocer box: Mixed Colored Carrots,Turnips, Broccoli, Red Potatoes, Avocados, Romaine, Red Chard, Pink Lady Apples, Mineola Tangelos, Red Grapefruit, Mango, Bananas.

Special Meals this Week: (Sunday through Sunday)

Participating blogs:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Colleen permalink
    February 3, 2011 9:31 am

    i am very impressed! i’m going to look into a veggie service here, the allure of wegmans is insane and i’m too embarrassed to tell you what we spend on groceries. but we eat a lot of chicken which is 5.50 a package for the good cutlets (frozen bags are made of crap chicken) $$. and ian is on organic milk, at a lovely 5.99 a gallon 2x a week and organic eggs 3.69….. right there is $15 bucks of your 75 dollars!

    • February 3, 2011 11:32 am

      You, more than anyone, save for AAM, know that I have a hard time holding back at the grocery store. We used to spend a fortune. I have to admit, going to a small grocery store, and we go to a tiny urban version of a Harris Teeter, there is less temptation. Looking at your numbers, your organic milk seems to be high. We get it for about $3.00- $4.00 and watch the sales at HT. I stock up when it is on sale. If you buy it in a paper carton it doesn’t expire as quickly. Horizon organic does have coupons online. Certified Humane eggs are expensive, but I take the hit for the humanity 😉

      Now, if you didn’t buy meat products, you would save loads of money, but I know that will never happen.

  2. February 3, 2011 11:39 am

    you’re rocking it! and am slightly jealous to say the least. 🙂

    and i definitely want to see the recipe for the grapefruit barley risotto. that sounds incredible.

    • February 3, 2011 8:31 pm

      Sure thing! I have typed it up, but I just need to make it. Laryngitis is still here, so I am not feeling motivated to cook. However, by tomorrow night I might need another method to consume all the citrus!

  3. February 3, 2011 4:34 pm

    Awesome job!

    My CSA would put me over budget every week, I fear. There is a little place near me that just sells produce and most of it is local, etc. I should stick to that. One thing the CSA would do for me, though, is help me stop buying things that aren’t in season. I never know. If it’s at the grocery store I just buy it. It’s taking time to learn what’s in season and what’s not.

    • February 3, 2011 8:36 pm

      Thanks! And welcome to the blog.

      Seasonal veggies are definitely a problem. I have to admit, we don’t belong to a true CSA. Instead it works with a variety of farms, and in the winter some of these are far away. However, the organization keeps as local as they can. And, they are pretty affordable, due to the fact for a long time DC had horrific grocery stores and Whole Foods. There was nothing in between to get quality groceries. That has all changed now, but they still keep it affordable enough that it is the better option. Have you checked if there are CSAs with better pricing in your area? I have to admit, I have lived in DC my entire life, even went to college here, and I had never heard of Washington’s Green Grocer. So, there might be a way for you to get veggies delivered at a more affordable cost and you aren’t even aware of it! Ask around.

Leave a Reply

