Skip to content

Laryngitis and a Hot Toddy

February 2, 2011

I am not much of a medicine person.  I mean, I believe it works, science is great and everything, but the idea of constantly putting drugs in my body to fix things just doesn’t appeal. I never take NyQuil and when I got my wisdom teeth out I only took Advil for a day. I have to say, sometimes it is to my detriment, like when I had my gallbladder out. I woke up from the anesthesia and forbade them from giving me any drugs. Delirious, I kept telling the surgery nurse, who happens to be one of my mom’s close friends,  “IT’S ADDICTIVE. NO!!” Let’s just say recovery was a little rough. Clearly, this puritanical approach to medicine drives my mother crazy. When it comes to the common cold, I have this belief that some drugs slow the healing process, and make me feel funky. I have allergies to a few serious medicines, like penicillin and codeine,  so that could have influenced my feeling. However, my dad is the same way, so I probably learned it from his own branch of Irish stubborness mixed in with his Yankee upbringing. Trudging along when I have a cold, I consume tons of liquids, sleep, and vitamins.

My first bout of laryngitis started when I was teaching Kindergarten and earning my Master’s Degree in History, full-time. Shocking, I know, who would think someone would get sick doing that? Not having health care, I had a harrowing visit to the local clinic where I ran from the nurses, and three people including AAM had to sit on me to give me a strep test. Probably my only time in my life that I had super human strength. Negative, they declared that it was a cold and laryngitis. After a three-hour class that night, I remember pulling up to the closest pub for my weekly grad student bonding time. Because I had to get up at 6 am to teach 5 year-olds, I usually didn’t partake, but this night, a friend of mine ordered me a hot toddy.  And, well, I could speak again. Miracle!

Today, after a weekend of nursing a baby with pink eye, ear infection, and teething, followed by a week of teaching every period accompanied by meetings, I lost my voice. It left me slowly through the day, each class I sounded like a new odd animal. The kids would jump, and ask if I had been crying. By the time Serafina and I picked up AAM tonight, I was rendered mute. We got home and I didn’t even feel like eating. So, I went back to the classic medicine our grandmothers used, tea, honey, lemon, hot water, and a stiff drink.

Hot Toddy

  • 1 cup of hot water
  • 1/4 cup of whiskey or rum (an estimation here)
  • 1 tb lemon juice
  • 1 tb honey
  • 1 bag of chamomile tea

1. Boil your water.

2. In your mug stir together rum, lemon juice, and honey.

3. Pour in the hot water, and add the tea.

4. Let seep and enjoy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. SarahW permalink
    February 3, 2011 7:02 am

    A perfect winter drink- sick or not! We love those around here! And, we have those same mugs to enjoy (with a W of course) in which to enjoy them 🙂 Hope you’re feeling better!

    • anonymous permalink
      May 21, 2011 7:31 pm

      alcohol is a drug….

      • May 21, 2011 9:19 pm

        yes. but it doesn’t have billions of odd chemicals and preservatives that we have no idea what they do. when i pour a little whiskey i know what it is, and what it will do. i have weird reactions to medicine, but i have never had a reaction to a small amount of whiskey. alcohol is techinically a drug, but it is not a product of a highly problematic medicine industry

Leave a Reply

