Skip to content

Save your Veggies: Vegetable Casserole

January 27, 2011

I am not much of a casserole maker. I never had them growing up, so I am not sure what I am doing. However, we had lots of veggies, and some of them were about to turn, so I wanted to save the lot of them. In cold weather, a casserole appears to be the answer. Feel free to adjust the recipe the way you want to, this is just for inspiration!

About this casserole: Feel free to mix in different or more veggies to your liking. These were the ones around my house. Also, Pacific now makes an organic mushroom soup that is a little healthier than Campbell’s. And well, my Scottish American husband says never trust a Campbell, whatever that means, so I grabbed it. Finally, sneak some tofu into this dish, even if you have a non-tofu eater. It adds some protein, and there are so many ingredients they won’t notice. Shh, don’t tell AAM!

Veggie Casserole

  • 1/2 bag of egg noodles (I use the no-yolk kind)
  • 1 bunch of broccoli, chopped
  • 1 cup of onions, chopped
  • 1/2 cup of asparagus, chopped
  • 1/2 cup of carrots
  • 1/2 cup of cabbage, chopped
  • 1 cup of tofu, cubed
  • 1 can of cream of mushroom
  • 1 cup of shredded Gouda
  • 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs
  • 1 tb oregano
  • 1 tb ground pepper
  • Sprinkle of Parmasean
  • 1-2 tablespoons of butter to top

1.Preheat the oven to 400

2. In a pan (either saute pan or an oventop-safe casserole dish), saute your veggies in some olive oil over medium heat. If they start to burn a little, add some water to loosen them up.

2. Meanwhile, boil your egg noodles. They should take about 10 minutes.

3. Once both the veggies and noodles are cooked, mix them together in your casserole dish. Pour in the cream of mushroom soup, tofu, and Gouda cheese. Stir together. Next, top with the bread crumbs, oregano, and some Parmasean.If you want, you can dab some butter on top.

4. Cook in the oven for 25 minutes, or until the noodles on top are brown.

By the way, I had to fight AAM off of the casserole when I was putting it into tupperware.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. thew permalink
    January 27, 2011 9:27 pm

    That looks so much better than my mom’s 1970’s casseroles! Frittatas are a really nice way to use up an array of veggies too, if you have enough eggs around. My Scottish clan is Campbell, so I may have to have words with that husband! Besides, Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom is like an old friend in your cupboard 🙂

  2. January 27, 2011 9:46 pm

    You know I almost wrote about all the casserole stories I have been exposed to by my midwestern co-workers? You were the star! I had this entire draft about all the Middle School teachers, but I deleted it because I worried about writing about co-workers!

    I feel like Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom is that old friend that you have no idea how you met them or when they will go away. haha. Yeah, AAM’s family line traces straight to Scotland. Apparently, you guys made some people mighty angry in Scotland at some point. ME? I just find it funny to repeat.

Leave a Reply

