Skip to content

Cabbage Wraps Part 2: Asian Vegan Wraps

January 20, 2011

So, in part two of my explorations in the world of cabbage wraps, I decided to do an Asian twist. Learning from my last wrap, I changed to a softer green cabbage. When I made my Vegetarian Reuben last week, I just peeled off four top leaves and wrapped them in paper towels, then chopped into the cabbage for the Reuben’s slaw. Now, a few days later, they worked wonderfully to hold my soy crumble mixture. Because couscous cooking depends on what you are using (boxed or bulk), I have the ingredients list cooked couscous. However, feel free to prepare the couscous while you saute the onions. An easy meal for a week night, give it a try! (sorry no pics for this one, I forgot oops! Next time I make it, I will update with a picture)

Asian Vegetarian Wraps

  • 4 leaves of cabbage found under the first or second layer of cabbage (also could use endives, romaine, butter lettuce)
  • 1 tb olive oil
  • 2 cups of soy crumbles by Morningstar Farms©
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 yellow pepper chopped
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1/4 cup of shredded carrot
  • 1/8 cup of chili peppers diced
  • 1/2 cup of chopped almonds
  • 1 tb of sliced ginger
  • 1 tb soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tb hoisin sauce
  • 1 cup of whole wheat couscous, cooked.
  1. In a saute pan, saute the onions, garlic and green pepper.
  2. Once the onions are translucent throw in the soy crumbles,carrots, chili peppers, almonds, ginger, soy sauce, sesame oil,  and hoisin sauce. Saute for a few minutes until everything is mixed well together
  3. On a plate, place two cabbage leaves together for each serving. Put a scoop of couscous on top, then place the soy crumble mixture on the cabbage.
Leave a Reply

