Skip to content

Project Food Budget, Week Two

January 20, 2011

It really is amazing how tempting the grocery store is. Determined to stay within the $75 budget, this week I planned my food and brought a list. Things were screaming, BUY ME BUY ME as we whizzed on by.  I did my best to ignore the temptations, mostly the cheese display and the vegetarian foods section. I showed an amazing amount of restraint considering it was just Serafina and myself shopping. However, the truth is that our pantry is still very full, so all I needed were fresh veggies for all the recipes I am attempting this week. I am a little concerned about what will happen when the stash runs out. However, the types of veggies I selected were prime and not on sale, so when things run low it will be time for strategic shopping and recipe planning.

What I have learned so far:

  • In a short week, I have done a better job of having ingredients work in several recipes.
  • When forced to, I am very good at finding yummy recipes from of our pantry shelf. This is better than running to the store for a recipe whim.
  • My vegetables are expensive, mostly because I choose organic for many of them. I am going to have to decide what is more important. For now, if I can stay under-budget, organic is more important to me while I am cooking for a small baby.
  • Planning meals can be fun, especially if you are trying to play connect the dots for ingredients. To appeal to my visually creative side, I started using a sketchbook to plan recipes. Much like I do when I am sitting down to sew something, drawing out what I am going to do helps me be organized and creative. I also can keep track of ideas I might have for later.
  • I planned so well, that we have tons of extra fresh food. Our pantry is stocked, and the veggie drawer is full. Time to start getting creative, we might not need groceries next week!

Vegetarian Salmon Food Budget

two adults and one baby who eats finger foods.

Goal: $75 a week/ $300 a month

Actual:$58

Purchased: Parsnips, asparagus, romaine salad, baby spinach, mini-cucumbers, zucchini, grape tomatoes, onions, a bag of fingerling and mixed baby potatoes, baguette, deli-cut Swiss cheese, organic milk, organic yogurt, kashi frozen pizza, and certified humane eggs. (I identified the types of things when I did not choose the cheapest, but I decided to go for quality on those items).

Meals:

Participating blogs:

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 10:04 pm

    wow. everything sounds so delicious! way to go for being under budget. AND showing restraint. 🙂

Leave a Reply

