Skip to content

Project Food Budget

January 13, 2011

A few blogs that I enjoy are participating in Project Food Budget, where they fess up to their grocery spending and look at methods to save money. I like that many of the blogs are vegetarian blogs, so the budgets could look similar, but might not. Whenever we budget, I am always struck by how much food spending takes out of our financial pie. Even after trimming down our eating out costs, we still spend a good chunk on our groceries, especially since we bring our lunches to work each day. Perhaps a little public accountability mixed in with some good old competitiveness will solve this problem?

I mentioned this project to my coworkers during lunch, and they had all sorts of questions. Does this mean I will lower the quality of my ingredients? Isn’t budgeting food the last place you would want to cut spending out, especially compared to say going to the movies? Does a cheaper food budget mean abandoning supporting local farming, organics, or other green initiatives that we support? What would a good weekly budget be? What if I get so cheap I start being a Freegan and dumpster dive? That last one was from my friend David who is very aware of my love of being competitive with myself, and well, he likes to tease me. He also mentioned I might start eating shoe leather, but I reminded him that wouldn’t be vegetarian. Because for each family budgeting means different things, I guess I will say to each to their own. For me? I completely agree with one person’s reflection that they feel that since they save money elsewhere that they feel that groceries can be a treat. I will still buy quality ingredients, buy local when available, and organics when desired. However, this effort will make me plan meals, use all the produce, and interact with my food in a more positive manner. I will be working on making the more luxurious ingredients last longer. Learning to use what you have in a better way is one of the most important aspects of budgeting.

So, every Thursday I will post our budget, the meals we are going to make, and any observations I might have. Maybe you, fine reader, can give some pointers. Since it is my first week, and I did my bulk grocery shopping last week , I did a quick visit yesterday, so the budget  might be a little low. In the future, I will space out our trips a bit.

Vegetarian Salmon Food Budget

two adults and one baby who eats finger foods.

Goal: $75 a week/ $300 a month

Actual:$45

Purchased: Tub of brown rice, bok choy, turnip greens, pears, tempeh, milk, dried split peas,  pumpkernickel bread, whole wheat english muffins, yogurt, cabbage, and a few baby items.

Meals:

Other participating blogs:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 3:28 pm

    I haven’t heard of this before, I think I want to do it too! We’ve been discussing our budget and really would like to cut back on how much we spend on food, this would be a great way to keep us on track!

    • January 13, 2011 5:18 pm

      lisa – you are welcome to join in! i can add you to the list of participating bloggers for next week’s post.

    • January 13, 2011 6:47 pm

      Lisa– Join the club! We can cheer each other on!

Trackbacks

  1. Project Food Budget « the vegetarian salmon | How to Budget Money

Leave a Reply

