Skip to content

Finally, The Perfect Omelet

December 31, 2010

Omelets always mystified me. In my family, they were the one thing my father cooked that my mother did not touch. In charge of breakfast, he normally whipped up our meal before I ran, and I always ran, downstairs to witness it. For this reason, I have spent the past decade interviewing omelet chefs at brunches. They all say the same thing, use a small hot pan and lots of grease. However, that never helped me because it was getting the omelet to flip perfectly that was the problem. I can’t count the number times I would scream, and then declare we were having egg scramble again for breakfast.  Finally, this week I accomplished my goal of making the perfect omelet. I sent AAM running for the camera, and I might have scared Serafina with my screaming. Poor kid, she is going to need to get used to it.

So here is what I did, and please let me know what is confusing so I can find a way to re-write it to make it clear.

The Perfect Omelet

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of half and half or whole milk
  • 1 tsp ground pepper
  • two slices of Kerrygold cheddar diced
  • 3 sliced grape tomatoes
  • Pam spray

1. In a mixing bowl, whisk the eggs, milk, and pepper together. Your eggs should become a smooth yellow.

2. Grease your pan with Pam pretty well, don’t forget the sides, you will need them.

3. Heat your small pan over medium high heat, and pour in the egg mixture.

4. Let the bottom layer of the egg cook into a thin film, as it thickens through, slowly take your spatula and let it lift the outer edges away from the pan. Sift the pan to let the uncooked egg in the center hit the edges. Let it sink below the original cooked egg layer. By doing this, you are slowly thickening the border of your omelet, while also getting rid of that cooked portion in the center of your pan. Continue this until most of the uncooked egg has found its way to one of the borders in the pan.

5. Once the egg is mostly cooked, throw your cheese and tomatoes on top.

6. Slip a good spatula under half the cooked egg circle, tilt the pan away from you as you do this. Then, lift the pan towards you and the spatula towards the top of the pan, which creates an omelet in a semi-circle shape.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 9:47 am

    Have you ever seen that episode of Julia Child making omelets? It might have been one of the first tv shows she filmed. It’s really wonderful and hilarious. She has all these imaginary guests over for an omelet party and keeps taking filling requests from them. I remember her talking about making one for her mother-in-law, then she confides to the camera that she hasn’t got a mother-in-law. One of the omelets splits open during cooking, and she kind of mushes it back together with a wink and says something that amounts to, “what happens in your kitchen stays in your kitchen.” 🙂

    • January 1, 2011 9:45 pm

      You have to love Julia Child, just crazy enough to be normal!

Leave a Reply

