Skip to content

5- Minute Refried Beans with Chimichurri rub.

December 30, 2010

Recently I re-visted my college standby, refried beans. I had forgotten how much I loved them, and the vegetarian version is even healthier and tastier. Tonight, I was disappointed to see that I forgot to buy them. After research on the web, I discovered that I needed to spend the next eight hours waiting for a slow cooker, dried beans, and bacon grease to make my homemade version. Since I don’t own a slow cooker, have eight hours, and bacon grease is out of the question, I knew that was just wrong the wrong answer. Never fear though, I had canned pinto beans and ingenuity on hand. Taking the opportunity to add in my chimichurri rub for depth, I tried making refried beans at home. Note: this recipe is not for purists, but taste really good in burritos.

5-minute Refried Beans

  • 2 tb olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of onion chopped
  • 1 can of Pinto or Black beans, including the canning juice.
  • 1 tb chimichurri rub (optional)
  • Splash of milk
  1. Add the olive oil and to a sauce pan, and saute the onion.
  2. Throw in the beans with the rub, and let it simmer for 2-3 minutes while stirring occasionally. If the beans appear to be dry, add more olive oil.
  3. When the beans thicken up a little, stir and crush with a wooden spoon.
  4. Voila quick refried beans.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    December 31, 2010 10:47 am

    Yummy! Another idea—awhile ago my friend Bridget recommended putting a little milk in and it helps a lot:)

    • January 1, 2011 9:42 pm

      oh! that is a great idea! I didn’t see that anywhere, tell Bridget thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Colorful Veggie Fajitas « the vegetarian salmon

Leave a Reply

