Skip to content

Cabbage Wraps Attempt #1: Southwestern Vegetarian Wraps/Salad

December 12, 2010

Despite my Gaelic roots, I never really ate cabbage growing up. However, on my quest to try new veggies a few years back I realized that I really like the complexity of purple cabbage. Usually, I use it for burritos or cole slaw, however I decided to make cabbage wraps this week. I thought it might be nice to try two different approaches based on items already in our pantry and another under used food in my repertoire: soy crumbles. Because they aren’t the healthiest version of soy, I tend to only use them once in awhile. However, I wanted to at least diversify this use to be a little more interesting. The garnishes at the end are optional, so if you are vegan just put your own appropriate substitute on top if you so desire.

The Soutwestern Vegetarian Wrap:

Update: After trying the recipe, I realized that the purple cabbage was too tough to peel for the wraps. I would recommend using green cabbage, butter lettuce, or romaine for your own wraps. We just decide to make it into a salad, and that worked well too.

The Southwestern Vegetarian Salad Version:

Southwestern Vegetarian Wraps/ Salad

  • 4 underlaying leaves of cabbage  (also could use endives, romaine, butter lettuce)
  • 1 tb olive oil
  • 1 package of soy crumbles by Morningstar Farms©
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 green pepper chopped
  • 1 red pepper chopped
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1 cup of corn
  • 1 tb cumin
  • 1 tb hot sauce
  • 1 chili pepper diced
  • 1 avocado sliced
  • 1/2 cup of scallions
  • 1/2 cup of shredded cheeses (your choice of vegan or dairy)
  • 1 tsp ranch dressing
  1. In a saute pan, saute the onions, garlic, chili pepper, red pepper and green pepper.
  2. Once the onions are translucent throw in the soy crumbles, corn, cumin,hot sauce, and chili pepper.
  3. On a plate, place two cabbage leaves together.Place the soy crumble mixture on the cabbage. Lay the avocado slices on top.
  4. Garnish with scallions, cheese, or ranch dressing (or appropriate vegan substitutes).
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

