Skip to content

I watched too many Paula Deen episodes and…

October 17, 2010

I sent an email to Food Network.

I have no notions of grandeur. No one will read this email, or consider it important. However, I watched too many episodes where I realized Paula Deen or Ina Garten might, in fact, have a heart attack on camera. I stopped watching Food Network years ago, because I was annoyed with the glut and the lack of progressive consumption. Seriously, the various restaurants in D.C.  have local products, plenty of vegetarian options, a gourmet approach, innovative ideas, and progressive ingredients. We are not considered a culinary city, but we are centuries ahead of cable networks. I own twenty, very popular vegetarian cookbooks. Vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike cook from these books, but there are no vegetarian cable cooking shows. The vegetarian lifestyle is not just about being humane, but healthy. People who eat a mostly plant-based lifestyle live longer. End. of. Story. The Food Network is caught up in the gluttony of the 80’s, and just contributing to that lifestyle. There are a few shows I enjoy, such as Ellie Krieger and Giada, but many of the shows on repeat throughout the week produce really, really unhealthy or carnivorous foods. It should be called the Cake/ Fat Wars Network.

 

My informal and very un-poetic email, which was more inspired than elegant:

I love Food Network, I used to watch it religiously, but I stopped watching it two years ago because there is no show that speaks to my cooking style. I am vegetarian, and for me to watch your network, I mostly have to stick to sides. I know so many vegetarians, and the lifestyle is growing because of health and values. It is no longer a liberal hippie thing, there are so many people who are living a vegetarian foodie lifestyle. They crave non-meat main courses. It is harder to create a delectable vegetarian dish than a steak. I teach, and each year I have more and more vegetarian students- this is your future. However, Food Network has not caught up. I don’t need another diner or cake show, seriously who needs a cake competition, what I need is an innovative healthy vegetarian cooking show to help raise my family. What is Food Network doing to show that gourmet cooking can be healthy and humane?? How are you truly fighting the obesity epidemic? I love Ellie Krieger, but give me more!

I know my email really has no voice or say for programming, but maybe someone will read this and realize that there is an un-found market. I have a blog that only my friends read. I have 5 vegetarian friends, but 70-100 readers, from different locations, a day. This tells me that non-vegetarians don’t mind eating veg. People want to know more. So many people come up to me every day saying they love the recipes and they wish they knew more hearty veg recipes. There is a market, the question is if Food Network is ready for this market.

Thank you,

Maureen

https://vegetariansalmon.wordpress.com/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 10:44 pm

    Great blog, great e-mail, great sentiment! I completely agree – it’s super frustrating!

  2. October 19, 2010 9:26 am

    I completely agree. In fact, I think some of the shows promote unhealthy eating habits. If you look at the recipes in the Food Network magazine you can find some that are relatively healthy or ways to make substitutions to others that are not so healthy, but Food Network seems to be promoting junk food.

    That being said, there are a few shows worth watching–Good Eats is all about the science of food, which I find really entertaining (but I’m kind of a dork when it comes to food). As much as I hate to admit it, I learned a lot about technique from the Food Network, but now I have a hard time taking the channel seriously.

Leave a Reply

