Skip to content

Pasta with Vodka Cream Sauce, and Why I Don’t Read Foodie Websites

October 11, 2010

So, tonight we had a bit of cream, a bit of homemade sauce, and a bit of vodka. So naturally, I decided to make vodka cream sauce. A quick search of recipes on the internet brought up the website Chowhound. Something to know about me, I do spend a significant time on the Internet, but I hate most of it. Therefore, I tend to keep my focus narrow and avoid reading pompacity and ignorance– due to the possibility of either angering me. Chowhound fits in the former category, as well as the latter. As it is a foodie website, people spout their uninformed knowledge about all things food related. The topic that popped up in my google search was over if penne ala vodka was good or a valid Italian recipe. A member complained that you couldn’t taste the vodka, and that the recipe only became famous because of a food contest and vodka campaign in the 70s. This person didn’t understand the dynamics of food chemistry or Italian heritage. But, hey could I fault them? They were using Wikipedia as a source. The reality is that vodka does an interesting awakening to tomatoes, which compliments the cream. And as many Italian Americans know, vodka cream sauce is just another recipe in the thousands of Italian recipes that Americans discover late. To think that Northern Italians couldn’t think of adding vodka to tomato cream sauce without the help of a vodka company is well, insulting. Italian food is about experimenting with fresh ingredients with what is on hand. So many Italian foods reach a trendy American frenzy, but the Italians have been enjoying the combination for decades.

Tonight, we enjoyed Rigatoni ala vodka, since in the spirit of my ancestors, I decided to change things up with what we had on hand. The sauce has a good creamy smoothness with a bite in the end. It is a great way to change up the regular pasta and tomato sauce. For now on, I think I will stick to the blogs I love, instead of foodie meccas.

Vodka Cream Sauce

1. Using your tomato sauce base, pour in vodka, cream, pepper, and Pecorino.

2. Let simmer for 20 minutes while you bring your pasta water to a boil and cook the pasta.

3. Drizzle the sauce on top of your drained pasta.** Garnish with basil.

** Tossing the sauce with the pasta can dry out the meal. The best way to handle this is to either sprinkle cheese on the bottom of your serving plate, pour the al dente pasta on top, and then pour the sauce on top. Let people grab their serving and mix it together while they eat. With just AAM and I, I serve on each plate then pour the sauce.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 8:04 am

    I love this recipe, but I rarely have cream in my house. Vodka, always. If I had only a little Vodka left, I would probably just put it on ice 🙂

  2. Laura permalink
    November 8, 2010 10:10 pm

    Made this tonight…thought of you cause I had some vodka and cream and made some sauce…..thanks for inspiring me:)

Leave a Reply

