Skip to content

A little disaster, and some good guacamole.

September 3, 2010

Tonight I had my yearly cooking catastrophe breakdown. Usually the result of me stupidly messing up a new recipe, AAM is fully aware for the potential of this occurring at every meal. So, he institutes good cooking rules, such as don’t try to do too many new things at once. Ironically, cooking breakdown 2010 was over a recipe that I cook so often, I could do it in my sleep: pasta salad. However, that didn’t seem to matter tonight. With the preparation for the start of school, adjusting to Serafina at daycare, the new cold she brought home, as well as her sleep regression, it has been quite a hard adjustment. So, I was looking forward to a quiet weekend of cooking routine meals and enjoying the end of summer.

Tonight we decided to have tofu dogs, special baked beans, and pasta salad. I prepared guacamole for us to eat before we sat down to dinner. Then, Serafina decided that she had several needs all at once, and the beans were potentially burning. After feeding Serafina a bit of her bottle, I grabbed the pasta, veggies, and a spoon and started to stir it all together. Proud of my ability to cook four separate dishes all at once while feeding her, it was only a minute later when I realized that I used the dirty cat food spoon to mix the mac salad. Quelle Disastre! A complete and utter meltdown followed, thank god for good guacamole though…

Tasty Guacamole

Ingredients:

  • 2 Avocados, sliced open and chopped
  • 1 cup of chopped grape tomatoes
  • ½ cup of diced or chopped Vidalia onion
  • 1 jalepeno pepper diced (optional)
  • 1 tspn Kosher Salt
  • 1 tb good olive oil
  • ¼ cup of chopped cilantro
  • juice from one lime

Directions:

  1. In a wooden bowl with a wooden spoon, fold the avocado, tomatoes, onion, olive oil and optional pepper slowly together.
  2. Sprinkle salt, cilantro, and lime juice, then mix, and repeat until you evenly distributed them.
  3. Serve with chips! Or burritos! Or Fajitas! Or tacos! Or on sandwiches…you get my point J
Leave a Reply

