Skip to content

Pumpkin Ravioli in a Sage Cream Sauce

August 22, 2010

Although it is not Fall yet, we are getting ready for it over here. We had our last vacation of the summer. Serafina’s first backpack for daycare came, and she starts on Thursday. I have faculty meetings next week, and then I need to plan for my courses. Finally, AAM is done with paternity leave. So sadly, Fall is just around the corner.

In the spirit of Fall, I am addicted to anything pumpkin flavored, so tonight I attempted two recipes and here is the first. Now, despite my love of being Italian and cooking, I do not make homemade pasta. I just really don’t have the time or the equipment to do it right. It also bleeds into my “I don’t bake” mantra, so I think I will hold off. AAM and I are looking for a pasta cooking class, so until then the wonton wrappers will definitely suffice.

So I looked up a variety of ways to make this, and concoted my own recipe. The only problem was that when I double checked the packaging, I realized we had spring rolls instead of wontons. They were way too big, and I think the wrapper taste dominated over the ravioli. However, I am positive that if we used wontons it would be perfectly fine, plus easier to cook. We served it with this Cranberry Dandelion Green recipe.

Pumpkin Ravioli in a Butter Sage Sauce

  • 1 Can of Pumpkin Puree (Organic if you can find it)
  • 1/2 cup of Ricotta Cheese (Semi-Skim)
  • 1 tspn oregano
  • 1 tspn cinnamon
  • 1 tspn ginger
  • 1 package of wontons (found in the vegetable/soy section of grocer)
  • 2 tb butter
  • 1 eggwhite
  • 1 tb olive oil
  • 6 whole sage leaves
  • 1/2 cup of cream
  • 2 tb of Pecorino or Parmesean cheese

Directions:

  1. Take the first four ingredients, and mix together in a bowl.
  2. Bring a pot of water to boil.
  3. Meanwhile, using a brush, spread eggwash on the outer edges of your wonton, with a spoon place the pumpkin mixture on the wonton.
  4. You can fold the wonton any way you want, but here I did an envelope fold, the pictures below demonstrate.

  1. Repeat this until you have finished your mixture.
  2. Place the ravioli’s in the water until they heat.
  3. Next, preheat a saute pan on the stove, and add the butter. Let sage simmer in the pan.
  4. Once the ravioli are ready, take each one out with a plastic or wooden slotted spoon , and toss the ravioli into the butter sauce.
  5. Remove the ravioli, then add 1/2 cup of cream. On low heat, scrape the burned bits with the cream, and add in the cheese. Let simmer for one minute.
  6. Pour the cream sauce over your ravioli.

Leave a Reply

